Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 23:16:55

Sponsor 743
April 13
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 14, 11:40 pm)
Chad Simpson wins wild MLRA stop at Davenport
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Shannon Babb
  4. Jake Timm
  5. Chad Holladay
  6. Bob Gardner
  7. Jeff Herzog
  8. Jason Feger
  9. Daniel Hilsabeck
  10. Ryan Gustin
  11. Tyler Stevens
  12. Dillon McCowan
  13. Rich Bell
  14. Brandon Sheppard
  15. Tony Jackson Jr.
  16. Spencer Diercks
  17. Garrett Alberson
  18. Mason Oberkramer
  19. Billy Moyer
  20. Steve Stultz
  21. Matt Ryan
  22. Justin Kay
  23. Kolby Vandenbergh
  24. Trevor Gundaker
  25. Tyler Bruening
  26. Dustin Sorensen
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chad Simpson celebrates after winning Thursday's $5,000 MLRA feature at Davenport Speedway.
What won the race: Reigning tour champ Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, regained the lead when Ryan Gustin hopped the cushion and left the racing surface in turn two on lap 38, pacing the final two laps at Davenport Speedway to capture Thursday's $5,000 Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association feature. Simpson, one of five leaders who led on four occasions, notched his 17th career MLRA Series victory and his first of the year.
Quotable: “I was a little nervous coming back here, last time last year we were here, we were in that fence over there upside down,” Simpson said. “I was just too tight really all night long and we freed up a little bit for the feature, which is something I probably should’ve never did, but it just kinda laid on the right rear a little bit too much.”
Key notes: The winner led four times for a total of 26 laps (1-2, 5-22, 31-34 and 39-40). ... Eighth-starting Chris Simpson, the winner's younger brother, moved into second on the lap-38 restart and finished 1.140 seconds back. ... Fast qualifier Shannon Babb led one lap (lap 30) and finished third. ... Jake Timm narrowly avoided a spinning Tyler Stevens and finished fourth. ... Chad Holladay led laps three and four before fading to finish fifth. ... Ryan Gustin led laps 35 through 38 before hitting the cushion wrong in turn two, causing his car to veer hard right and leave the racing surface; he never returned. ... Brandon Sheppard led laps 23 through 29 before retiring with a flat right rear tire. ... After winning the first consolation, Tony Jackson Jr. ran as high as ninth before spinning twice to draw lap-29 and lap-30 cautions. ... Tyler Bruening spun from sixth on the second lap, collecting Garrett Alberson and Dustin Sorensen. ... The race featured seven lead changes among five drivers. ... Apparent second heat winner Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., was disqualified for a deck-height violation; he missed transferring from the consy by one position. ... Thursday's feature, the third MLRA race of the 2023 season, was slowed by six cautions and lasted 29 minutes with nine drivers completing 40 laps.
On the move: Jeff Herzog of Festus, Mo., started 23rd and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn by Wells Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine with sponsorship from Ideal Ready Mix, Randy Davidson Trucking, Venture Concrete & Excavating, Moeller Farms, Midwest Frame & Axle, Volker Trucking, Subway, Stewart & Sons, Holmtown Pub, Burich Trucking, BMRE, Twenty 5 Design, Grasshopper Lawn Care, NAPA, Lucas Oil, Gorsuch Performance, Swift Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Wehrs Machine and Performance Bodies.
Points chase: After Davenport: 1. Chad Simpson (665); 2. Garrett Alberson (540); T3. Dillon McCowan (515); T3. Tyler Stevens (515); 5. Billy Moyer (495).
Current weather: Clear, 70°F
Car count: 45
Fast qualifier: Shannon Babb
Time: 13.852 seconds
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Chad Holladay, Ryan Gustin, Brandon Sheppard
Consolation race winners: Tony Jackson Jr., Justin Kay
Provisional starters: Jeff Herzog, Kolby Vandenbergh, Trevor Gundaker, Steve Stultz
Next series race: April 15, 34 Raceway (West Burlington, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chad Simpson, Gustin
Row 2: Holladay, B. Sheppard
Row 3: Babb, Bruening
Row 4: Timm, Alberson
Row 5: Chris Simpson, Moyer
Row 6: Diercks, Ryan
Row 7: Feger, Stevens
Row 8: Hilsabeck, Sorensen
Row 9: Jackson Jr., Kay
Row 10: Bell, Oberkramer
Row 11: Gardner, McCowan
Row 12: Herzog, Vandenbergh
Row 13: T. Gundaker, Stultz
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information