Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 01:40:28

Sponsor 743
November 8
Canyon Speedway Park,
Peoria, AZ
Sanction: West Coast Late Model Shootout (Mr. Excitement 40 Tribute to Terry Belcher) - $2,000
Information provided by: Lonnie Wheatley (last updated November 9, 12:33 pm)
Wisconsin invader captures Canyon finale
Mr. Excitement 40 Tribute to Terry Belcher
  1. Pat Doar
  2. R.C. Whitwell
  3. Clay Daly
  4. Lonnie Parker Jr.
  5. Tony Toste
  6. Don Shaw
  7. Tommy Malcolm
  8. Steve Drake
  9. Jake O'Neil
  10. Nick Bartels
  11. Cody Laney
  12. John Cornell
  13. Bud Grossenbacher
  14. Craig Parker
  15. Jerry Fincher
  16. Paul Guglielmoni
  17. Dave Bennard
  18. Mitch Mohler
  19. Mark Daye
presented by
K.C. Rooney
Pat Doar picked up $2,000 for his victory at Canyon Speedway.
What won the race: Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., took the lead on the fifth lap at Canyon Speedway and led the rest of the way for a $2,000 victory in the West Coast Shootout finale. R.C. Whitwell and Clay Daly finished second and third while Steve Drake's eighth-place finish in a borrowed car was good enough to wrap up his first WCS championship.
Quotable: "We started fifth and tightened the car up more than we had it last night, and it paid off for us," Doar said. "I jumped the cushion a bunch of times, and nearly threw the race away that one time, but we survived and managed to win it."
Key notes: Doar piloted a new MasterSbilt Race Car he recently picked up from Jay McDonald Racing in Fargo, N.D. ... Doar survived a lap-32 mistake when he "nearly drove through the wall," he said. ... Tommy Malcolm started on the pole but slipped high early, allowing outside front-row starter Lonnie Parker Jr. to lead the first four laps. ... Doar took the lead on a lap-five restart. ... Steve Drake, Friday's winner, blew an engine in the dash and drove a Jason Papich car (carried by Tony Toste as a backup) in the feature. He finished eighth to secure the series title. ... Runner-up R.C. Whitwell piloted Jeff Manka's car after spending most of the season crewing for Earl Pearson Jr. on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. ... Seven cautions, six in the first 19 laps, slowed the action.
On the move: The fifth-starting Doar won the 40-lapper.
Winner's sponsors: Doar's MasterSbilt is sponsored by S&S Transport and Speedwerx.
Points chase: Steve Drake won the WCS championship by 18 points over Tony Toste after Toste loaned Drake a the Jason Papich No. 91P he was hauling to run the main event "(Drake) would have done the same thing for me if we'd had trouble with our car," Toste said. "We're both from the same area, and I didn't want to win the championship with him sitting in the trailer."
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Clay Daly
Dash winner: Tommy Malcolm
Heat race winners: Steve Drake, Cody Laney, Tommy Malcolm
Editor's note: Corrects Nick Bartels as 10th-place finisher.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information