Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/16/2024 14:56:11

Sponsor 743
November 7
Canyon Speedway Park,
Peoria, AZ
Sanction: West Coast Late Model Shootout (Mr. Excitement 40 Tribute to Terry Belcher) - $1,200
Information provided by: Lonnie Wheatley and Brian McLeod (last updated November 8, 9:33 am)
Drake captures weekend opener at Canyon
Mr. Excitement 40 Tribute to Terry Belcher
  1. Steve Drake
  2. Pat Doar
  3. Cody Laney
  4. R.C. Whitwell
  5. Don Shaw
  6. Tony Toste
  7. Dave Bennard
  8. Mark Daye
  9. Tommy Malcolm
  10. John Cornell
  11. Jake O'Neil
  12. Clay Daly
  13. Jerry Fincher
  14. Lonnie Parker Jr.
  15. Nick Bartels
  16. Craig Parker
  17. Robert King
  18. Bruce Duckett
  19. Paul Guglielmoni
  20. Mitch Mohler
presented by
Lonnie Wheatley
Steve Drake won his ninth career West Coast Shootout event.
What won the race: Steve Drake of San Luis Obispo, Calif., solidifed his points lead heading in Saturday's West Coast Shootout finale with a $1,200 victory Friday, breaking away from a late three-car battle with Wisconsin invader Pat Doar and two-time champ Clay Daly of Watsonville, Calif. Doar settled for second while Daly limped home in 12th after breaking an axle in the final laps.
Quotable: "I used the top to take the lead early, but the bottom groove was better for me, so I moved down there and figured I'd change the approach if I saw someone's nose sticking in there beside me," Drake said. "I never did see anyone, so I just stayed there. My car seemed to like running the low groove. That might have been the raciest track we've had all season, and you really couldn't ask for a better surface."
Key notes: Drake entered the race locked in a points battle with Clay Daly and Tony Toste (nine points separated them). ... Runner-up Pat Doar debuted a new MasterSbilt Race Car from Jay McDonald Racing of Fargo, N.D. ... R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Ariz., who spent most of the season crewing for Earl Pearson Jr.'s Bobby Labonte Racing, finished fourth in Jeff Manka's No. 5. ... Saturday's feature pays $2,000-to-win. ... The two-race weekend honors retired Arizona driver Terry Belcher, one of the state's best-ever short-track drivers.
On the move: Young Cody Laney of Torrance, Calif., started 11th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Drake's Cornett-powered Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Wolf-Pack Racing and Drake Farms.
Points chase: Steve Drake lengthened his points lead with Tony Toste and Clay Daly still in contention heading into the Nov. 8 finale.
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Steve Drake
Heat race winners: Tony Toste, Clay Daly, Pat Doar
Next series race: November 8, Canyon Speedway (Peoria, AZ) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information