Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 06:10:49

Sponsor 743
March 4
Senoia Raceway,
Senoia, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $10,053
Information provided by: Robert Holman, series and track reports (last updated March 9, 11:45 pm)
Herrington grabs first Spring Nationals win
  1. Wil Herrington
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Parker Martin
  4. Haiden Cowan
  5. Payton Freeman
  6. Austin Horton
  7. Benji Hicks
  8. Jimmy Sharpe Jr.
  9. Carson Ferguson
  10. Ashton Winger
  11. Caden Mullinax
  12. Kenny Collins
  13. Dylan Knowles
  14. Skip Freeman
  15. David McCoy
  16. Bailey Williams
  17. Chuck Southard
  18. Dalton Cook
  19. Jon Lee
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Wil Herrington won on a rough and tumble night at Senoia Raceway.
What won the race: Wil Herrington of Hawkinsville, Ga., took the lead for good on a lap-15 restart and paced the remaining circuits to capture Saturday night's 35-lap Schaeffer's Oil Spring Nationals feature at Senoia Raceway. He survived rugged track conditions to earn $10,053 for first career tour victory.
Quotable: “Oh man, I’m out of breath," Herrington said in victory lane. "I knew Ashton (Winger) was gonna be good; he was good in the heat. I knew (Payton) Freeman was gonna be good too, so I just tried to set a pace, but I guess (Winger) caught a hole wrong. After that I just tried to manage this thing. I didn’t want to see that green-white-checkered (finish) there at the end.”
Key notes: Ashton Winger led laps 9-14 before suffering mechanical failure while leading and making hard contact with the turn-three wall, ending his night. ... Herrington paced the other 29 laps (first eight from the pole and final 21). ... Ross Bailes and Parker Martin made contact while battling for second on the final lap with both drivers spinning in turn four. They limped to the finish with Herrington placing second, than 14 seconds behind Herrington, and Martin finishing third as the final driver to complete all 35 laps. ... Haiden Cowan finished one lap down in fourth while Payton Freeman, who ran as high as second before slowing to bring out the third caution on lap 33, was credited with finishing fifth. ... Sixth-place Austin Horton was the final driver running at the finish of the high-attrition event. ... Saturday's feature was shortened to 35 laps from its scheduled 53 due to unfavorable track conditions. ... In total, 24 entered drivers loaded up before heat races because of the difficult conditions; Senoia Raceway officials posted a statement on social media apologizing for the rough surface that retained moisture from heavy rain earlier in the week. ... Mike Marlar, Brandon Overton and Shane Clanton were scheduled to start on the pole in their respective heat races. Clanton but all three withdrew from competition before the prelims. ... Pennsylvania invader Jon Lee scratched from the feature after losing an engine on the opening lap of his heat race. … The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals returns to Senoia in July for a $7,553-to-win event.
On the move: Parker Martin of Miledgeville, Ga., started 10th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Herrington’s JCM Motorsports Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Torco Advanced Lubricants, Yellow Hammer Design & Construction, New Point Lighting & Design, Harvey Trucking, 5M Construction, Neon Bubbles Car Wash, The Mercantile, Y Delta Inc., Fastshafts, Gorsuch Performance, VP Racing Fuels, Boswell Oil and TopKnotch Kustom Koncepts.
Points chase: After Senoia Saturday: 1. Ross Bailes (378); 2. Carson Ferguson (372); 3. Wil Herrington (366); 4. Ashton Winger (360); 5. Jimmy Sharpe Jr. (356); T6. Haiden Cowan (354); T6. Parker Martin (354); 8. Kenny Collins (346); 9. Dalton Cook (328); 10. Brandon Overton (275).
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 43
Fast qualifier: Mike Marlar
Time: 13.803 seconds
Polesitter: Wil Herrington
Heat race winners: Wil Herrington, Carson Ferguson, Payton Freeman, Ross Bailes
Next series race: March 11, 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Herrington, P. Freeman
Row 2: Ca. Ferguson, Bailes
Row 3: Hicks, Winger
Row 4: McCoy, Cowan
Row 5: Southard, Martin
Row 6: Cook, Horton
Row 7: Mullinax, D. Knowles
Row 8: Williams, Collins
Row 9: Sharpe Jr., S. Freeman
Row 10: Lee

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information