Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 11:40:17

Sponsor 743
January 28
Central Arizona Raceway,
Casa Grande, AZ
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Ernie Mincy Early Thaw) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated January 30, 9:20 am)
Mayea masters Central Arizona's Early Thaw finale
Ernie Mincy Early Thaw
  1. Rob Mayea
  2. Cole Schill
  3. Dave Mass
  4. Josh Zimpel
  5. Ryan Corbett
  6. Ricky Weiss
  7. Bricen James
  8. Ian Whisler
  9. Clayton Stuckey
  10. Steve Stultz
  11. Ryan Engels
  12. Thomas Hunziker
  13. John Cornell
  14. Larry Fitzsimmons
  15. Jimmy Whisler
  16. Lance Schill
  17. Scott Ward
  18. Jason Strand
  19. Ben Mickelson
  20. Cody Laney
  21. Clark Guglielmoni
  22. Terry Carter
  23. Mike Greseth
  24. Bruce Duckett
  25. Denver Nickeson
  26. Greg Sharpe
presented by
What won the race: Rob Mayea of Bend, Ore., inherited the lead on a lap-27 restart when race-long leader Lance Schill was unable to continue and paced the final nine laps to win Saturday's $3,000 Ernie Mincy Early Thaw miniseries finale at Central Arizona Raceway. Mayea earned his first career Early Thaw miniseries victory.
Key notes: Lance Schill led the first 26 laps from the pole before retiring and finishing 15th. ... Scott Ward, Jason Strand, Ben Mickelson and Cody Laney were all involved in the lap-26 incident, finishing 16th through 19th, respectively. ... Sixth-starting Cole Schill moved into second on a lap-29 restart and finished 1.651 seconds behind Mayea. ... Driving co-promoter Don Shaw's car Dave Mass advanced five positions and finished third. ... Josh Zimpel gained seven spots and finished fourth, notching his sixth top-five finish in the seven-race miniseries. ... Ryan Corbett advanced nine spots and finished fifth. ... After winning four of the first six rounds Ricky Weiss charged from 17th to run second by lap 22 before getting caught in the lap-26 incident as well and tagged the field. Weiss recovered to finish sixth. ... Winner of last week's $2,500 third round Bricen James advanced 19 positions and finished seventh. ... Ian Whisler gained 10 spots and finished eighth. ... Clayton Stuckey advanced 15 spots and finished ninth. ... Saturday's Early Thaw miniseries finale lasted 34 minutes after the first 21 laps were completed without incident, before being slowed by six cautions between lap 21 and 28, including the multi-car incident on lap 26. Thirteen drivers completed all 35 laps.
On the move: Bricen James of Albany, Ore., started 26th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Mayea’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Mesilla Valley Transportation, JK Pickle Trucking, Inc., J&S Farms, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil, Pyrotect Safety Gear and Driving Force Graphics.
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 26
Polesitter: Rob Mayea
Heat race winners: Lance Schill, Rob Mayea, Terry Carter, Larry Fitzsimmons
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mayea, L. Schill
Row 2: Fitzsimmons, Laney
Row 3: Carter, C. Schill
Row 4: Mickelson, Mass
Row 5: Ward, J. Whisler
Row 6: Zimpel, Cornell
Row 7: Greseth, Corbett
Row 8: Engels, C. Guglielmoni
Row 9: Weiss, I. Whisler
Row 10: Hunziker, Strand
Row 11: Duckett, Nickeson
Row 12: Stultz, Stuckey
Row 13: Sharpe, James
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information