Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/14/2021 09:24:27

Sponsor 743
October 25
411 Motor Speedway,
Seymour, TN
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Steel Head Nationals) - $3,500
Information provided by: Inside Dirt Racing and track reports (last updated October 26, 9:19 pm)
Late tangle lifts Cardwell in Steel Head Nationals
Steel Head Nationals
  1. Jason Cardwell
  2. Billy Ogle Jr.
  3. Greg Martin
  4. Eddie King Jr.
  5. Bobby Giffin
  6. Ross White
  7. Josh Henry
  8. Jensen Ford
  9. Ruben Mayfield
  10. Jason Manley
  11. Steve Smith
  12. Jason Welshan
  13. Cory Hedgecock
  14. Greg Estes
  15. Ryan King
  16. Anthony White
  17. Rusty Ballenger
  18. Brian Courtney
  19. Jason Trammell
  20. Greg Huskey
presented by
Thomas Hendrickson/dt52photos.com
Jason Cardwell won at 411 after a tangle among frontrunners.
What won the race: Inheriting the point on lap 43 after contenders Jason Welshan of Maryville, Tenn., and Cory Hedgecock of Knoxville, Tenn., tangled while racing for the lead, Jason Cardwell, also of Knoxville, led the final seven laps to become 411's eighth different Steel Head Nationals winner in as many events. Welshan was struggling to steer with a broken A-frame and after they clipped entering turn three, Welshan's car veered high and into Hedgecock's machine.
Key notes: Cardwell and Welshan started from the front row, with Welshan grabbing the early advantage and pulling out to a straightaway lead. ... Hedgecock took second from Cardwell on lap 23. ... Brian Courtney brought out the first caution with a lap-28 spin. ... Hedgecock slipped past Welshan for the lead on lap 35, but a caution negated the move. ... Welshan and Hedgecock made conctact in turn three on the 43rd lap, with heavy damage forcing both drivers to retire. ... Cardwell regained the lead after the frontrunners' demise and raced uncontested to the $3,500 top prize. ... Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., drove a Mark Leach-owned No. 66 machine to a runner-up finish. ... Adam Beeler won the non-qualifiers' race.
Winner's sponsors: Cardwell's No. 07 is sponsored by Cardwell-Sheppard Motorsports, Phantom Racing Engines, Sassy Kutz Salon, Ujunkdit and West Haven.
Points chase: Ryan King of Seymour, Tenn., is the champion in the track's NeSmith Crate Late Model division.
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Cory Hedgecock
Time: 14.077 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Cardwell
Heat race winners: Jason Cardwell, Jason Welshan, Greg Estes, Billy Ogle Jr.
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728