Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/24/2024 23:55:07

Sponsor 743
October 22
Whynot Motorsports Park,
Meridian, MS
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Coors Light Fall Classic) - $12,000
Information provided by: Robert Holman (last updated October 23, 11:04 am)
Hughes hustles to win Whynot's $12,000 Fall Classic
Coors Light Fall Classic
  1. Spencer Hughes
  2. Tyler Erb
  3. David Breazeale
  4. Kyle Beard
  5. Payton Freeman
  6. Morgan Bagley
  7. Wil Herrington
  8. Evan Ellis
  9. Josh Putnam
  10. Dalton Cook
  11. Chad Thrash
  12. Hunter Lewis
  13. Chris Wall
  14. Mikey Kile
  15. Jamie Elam
  16. Chase Oliver
  17. Austin Franklin
  18. Chris Jones
  19. Brian Rickman
  20. Jeremy Broadus
  21. Dean Carpenter
  22. Bo Slay
  23. Rick Rickman
  24. Neil Baggett
presented by
Robert Holman/DirtonDirt.com
Winner Spencer Hughes (right) is joined in victory lane by Fall Classic promoter Charles Thrash.
What won the race: Seventh-starting Spencer Hughes rode the bottom line Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park, taking the lead on lap 19 and pacing the final 41 circuits to win the $12,000 28th annual Coors Light Fall Classic at his home track. Hughes captured his first Super Late Model victory of the season aboard his PCC Motorsports Longhorn Chassis.
Key notes: Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, finishes 1.612 seconds behind after leading led laps 2-18. ... Kyle Beard improved seven positions and finished fourth. ... Payton Freeman and Morgan Bagley each ran as high as second in the early laps before fading to finish fifth and sixth. ... Wil Herrington gained seven spots and finished seventh. ... Brian Rickman led lap one from the pole before retiring on lap 14 and finishing 19th. ... Rick Rickman brought out the first caution on lap six and finished 23rd. ... Neil Baggett was disqualified and credited with finishing 24th after attempting to intentionally wreck runner-up Tyler Erb with 10 laps remaining. Baggett, who was running 17th at the time, was retaliating for the last-lap slider Erb fired in their heat race that drew contact, while propelling Erb to a front-row starting spot for the feature. ... Saturday's feature, the 28th annual Fall Classic, was slowed by six cautions and lasted 50 minutes, with 11 competitors completing all 60 laps.
On the move: Josh Putnam of Florence, Ala., started 18th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Hughes drives a PCC Motorsports Longhorn Chassis sponsored by Professional Concrete Cutting & Drilling, Roth Heating & Cooling, Indiana USSSA Fast Pitch, Link Construction, Bob & Tommy Burton, CFM Truck Repair, Bilstein Shocks and Schaefer Trucking.
Current weather: Clear, 61°F
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Jamie Elam
Time: 12.711 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Rickman
Heat race winners: Brian Rickman, Tyler Erb, David Breazeale, Morgan Bagley
Consolation race winners: Chase Oliver, Josh Putnam
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From staff reports

MERIDIAN, Miss. (Oct. 22) — Updates from Saturday’s 28th annual Coors Light Fall Classic finale at Whynot Motorsports Park, which features a $12,000-to-win, 60-lap main event for Super Late Models on Saturday (results unofficial):


Seventh-starting Spencer Hughes of Meridian, Miss., rode the bottom line Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park, taking the lead from Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, on lap 19 and pacing the final 41 circuits to win the $12,000 28th annual Coors Light Fall Classic at his home track. Hughes' victory is his first of the year in Super Late Model competition aboard the PCC Motorsports Longhorn Chassis. He pulled away after a caution with six laps remaining and finished 1.613 seconds ahead of Erb, who started second.

Two-time Fall Classic winner David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., finished third (where he started) and Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., rallied from 11th to fourth, a half a length back of Breazeale. Commerce, Ga.’s Payton Freeman started and finished fifth in his first-ever trip to the quirky Mississippi oval.

Feature lineup

(60 laps)

Row 1: Brian Rickman, Tyler Erb
Row 2: David Breazeale, Morgan Bagley
Row 3: Payton Freeman, Neil Baggett
Row 4: Spencer Hughes, Mikey Kyle
Row 5: Evan Ellis, Dalton Cook
Row 6: Kyle Beard, Chris Wall
Row 7: Dean Carpenter, Wil Herrington
Row 8: Hunter Lewis, Chad Thrash
Row 9: Chase Oliver, Josh Putnam
Row 10: Rick Rickman, Bo Slay
Row 11: Jeremy Broadus, Austin Franklin
Row 12: Jamie Elam, Chris Jones

Consolation results

First consolation (top four advance): Chase Oliver, Rick Rickman, Jeremy Broadus, Jamie Elam, Clay Fisher, Blake McClain. Scratched: Terry Wilson, Jeremy Shaw, Ronnie Roberts Jr., Monte Skinner.

Second consolation (top four advance): Josh Putnam, Bo Slay, Austin Franklin, Chris Jones, Dane Dacus, Clay Coghlan. Scratched: Alex Ashley, J.C. Waller, Jason Jarrell.

Consolation lineups

(10 laps; top four transfer)

First consolation
Row 1: Jeremy Broadus, Chase Oliver
Row 2: Terry Wilson, Rick Rickman
Row 3: Blake McCain, Jamie Elam
Row 4: Jeremy Shaw, Clay Fisher
Row 5: Ronnie Roberts Jr., Monte Skinner
Second consolation
Row 1: Clay Coghlan, Josh Putnam
Row 2: Dane Dacus, Bo Slay
Row 3: Austin Franklin, Chris Jones
Row 4: Alex Ashley, J.C. Waller
Row 5: Jason Jarrell

Heat race results

First heat (top four transfer): Brian Rickman, Payton Freeman, Evan Ellis, Dean Carpenter, Jeremy Broadus, Terry Wilson, Blake McCain, Jeremy Shaw, Ronnie Roberts Jr.

Second heat (top four transfer): Tyler Erb, Neil Baggett, Dalton Cook, Wil Herrington, Clay Coghlan, Dane Dacus, Austin Franklin, Alex Ashley.

Third heat  (top four transfer): David Breazeale, Spencer Hughes, Kyle Beard, Hunter Lewis, Chase Oliver, Rick Rickman, Jamie Elam, Clay Fisher, Jason Jarrell.

Fourth heat (top four transfer): Morgan Bagley, Mike Kyle, Chris Wall, Chad Thrash, Josh Putnam, Bo Slay, Chris Jones, J.C. Waller. Scratched: Monte Skinner.

Heat race lineups

(10 laps; top four transfer)

First heat
Row 1: Brian Rickman, Jeremy Shaw
Row 2: Dean Carpenter, Payton Freeman
Row 3: Evan Ellis, Terry Wilson
Row 4: Blake McCain, Jeremy Broadus
Row 5: Ronnie Roberts Jr.
Second heat
Row 1: Tyler Erb, Neil Baggett
Row 2: Dalton Cook, Austin Franklin
Row 3: Wil Herrington, Clay Coghlan
Row 4: Dane Dacus, Alex Ashley
Third heat
Row 1: Spencer Hughes, David Breazeale
Row 2: Hunter Lewis, Kyle Beard
Row 3: Chase Oliver, Jamie Elam
Row 4: Jason Jarrell, Clay Fisher
Row 5: Rick Rickman
Fourth heat
Row 1: Josh Putnam, Morgan Bagley
Row 2: Chad Thrash, Chris Wall
Row 3: Mikey Kyle, Chris Jones
Row 4: Bo Slay, J.C. Waller
Row 5: Monte Skinner

Saturday’s schedule

11 a.m.: Gates open
4:30 p.m.: Hot laps begin
5:30 p.m.: Competition begins

Feature lineup

Row 1: B. Rickman, Erb
Row 2: Breazeale, Bagley
Row 3: Freeman, Baggett
Row 4: Hughes, Kyle
Row 5: Ellis, Cook
Row 6: Beard, Wall
Row 7: Carpenter, Herrington
Row 8: Lewis, Thrash
Row 9: Oliver, Putnam
Row 10: R. Rickman, Slay
Row 11: Broadus, Franklin
Row 12: Elam, Jones

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information