Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 09:54:58

Sponsor 743
October 18
Delaware International Speedway,
Delmar, DE
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Delaware State Dirt Track Championship) - $5,000
Information provided by: Eddie Hearn and track reports (last updated October 20, 4:10 pm)
Schirmer wins Delaware State Championship
Delaware State Dirt Track Championship
  1. Rob Schirmer
  2. Ross Robinson
  3. Donald Lingo Jr.
  4. Amanda Robinson
  5. Kerry King Jr.
  6. Austin Hubbard
  7. Robbie Emory
  8. Andrew Mullins
  9. Brandon Dennis
  10. Kelly Putz
  11. Michael Wilkins
  12. Joe Warren
  13. Ricky Elliott
  14. Mark Williams
  15. Chuck Schutz
  16. Herb Tunis
  17. Nick Davis
  18. Dan Fiedler
presented by
What won the race: Eighth-starting Rob Schirmer of Milton, Del., inherited the lead when Andrew Mullins of Laurel, Del., suffered a flat tire exiting turn two on the final lap of Delaware International Speedway's Delaware State Dirt Track Championship. Schirmer collected a $5,000 payday.
Quotable: "This has been a long time coming," Schirmer said. "I’ve run so good in this race – during the day finished second and I finally got an opportunity win it and I’m tickled to death. I knew his (Mullins) tire was going flat. I could see it going down the last couple restarts but I was just trying to keep my car straight and keep my tires because it was pretty rubbered up. I love this kind of track. I love this kind of racing.
Key notes: Austin Hubbard led the field at the halfway mark, but pitted on lap 42 when he blew a tire while leading. ... Mullins inherited the lead from Hubbard, but fell short of a victory with a flat tire; he finished eighth. ... Last year's race winner Ricky Elliott of Seaford, Del., was running second when he retired with a flat tire with six laps remaining. ... The Delaware State Dirt Track Championship was the half-mile oval's traditional season-ending event. ... Nick Davis bested Ricky Elliott and Amanda Whaley in Friday's opening heat, while Mullins topped Hubbard and Donald Lingo Jr. in the second heat race.
Points chase: Andrew Mullins of Bethel, Del., clinched his first career track title on Oct. 4.
Car count: 18
Heat race winners: Nick Davis, Andrew Mullins
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728