Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/14/2021 09:23:07

Sponsor 743
October 11
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series (Dega 100) - $6,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated October 12, 4:51 pm)
Madden claims $6,000 Dega 100 triumph
Dega 100
  1. Chris Madden
  2. Tim Busha
  3. Ronnie Johnson
  4. Tyler Crowder
  5. Tim Roszell
  6. Matthew Turner
  7. Donald Bradsher
  8. Brent Barrett
  9. Terry Smith
  10. Forrest Trent
  11. Jadon Frame
  12. Lavon Sparks
  13. Ryan King
  14. Brad Hall
  15. Adam Martin
  16. Brian Ligon
  17. Mark Dowdy
  18. David Gentry
  19. Jeff Smith
  20. Ted Lackey
  21. Jake Knowles
  22. Ross Bailes
  23. Jacob Grizzle
  24. Brett Hamm
presented by
Heath Lawson
Chris Madden picked up a trophy and $6,000 at Talladega.
What won the race: Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., moved to the lead early in the distance and never relinquished it. He maintained firm control throughout the extra-distance Dega 100 to pocket a $6,000 first-place prize by 2.051 seconds over Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., last year's Dega 100 winner.
Quotable: “It was a lot of fun racing side-by-side out there tonight, especially with Ronnie Johnson for the lead,” Madden said. “I started my racing career with the Crowders and they gave me my first Late model ride. If it wasn’t for a cut tire in our second race while we were leading, we could have made it three wins in a row.”
Key notes: Madden was victorious for the second time in three weeks behind the wheel of the Crowder Trucking 525 engine entry. He previously captured a Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series event on Sept. 26 at East Alabama Motor Speedway. ... Madden battled side-by-side with Ronnie Johnson in the early running before taking the lead on lap 20. Johnson finished third. ... Third-running Ross Bailes spun in turn two to draw a caution on the first lap. ... Another caution flew on lap 21 when Lavon Sparks spun in turn one. ... Tim Roszell spun to draw a caution on a lap-29 restart; second-running Jake Knowles and fourth-running Bailes retired. ... David Earl Gentry slowed on the racetrack for a lap-56 yellow. ... Brad Hall drew a caution on lap 67 when he slowed with a left-rear tire; he spun on lap 80 for another yellow. ... The final yellow flag waved on lap 93 when Jadon Frame stalled on the racetrack. ... The event was the season finale for the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series, a tour for Late Models powered by Chevy's CT 525 engines. ... The rare 100-lapper at Talladega settled the $10,000 series championship in favor of Johnson. He needed only a 10th-place finish to clinch the title.
On the move: Busha charged from the ninth starting spot to finish second. Tyler Crowder of Lamont, Fla., rallied from the 12th starting position to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Madden drove a Barry Wright Race Car sponsored by Crowder Trucking, Century Plastics and Stroble Mini Storage.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., clinched the championship with his third-place finish.
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Ronnie Johnson
Time: 14.381 seconds
Consolation race winners: Jacob Grizzle, Tyler Crowder
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728