Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/31/2023 15:05:55

Sponsor 743
August 19
Williams Grove Speedway,
Mechanicsburg, PA
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series - $10,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden and staff reports (last updated August 20, 11:54 am)
Clanton grabs $10,000 victory at Williams Grove
  1. Shane Clanton
  2. Max Blair
  3. Ryan Gustin
  4. Tanner English
  5. Rick Eckert
  6. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  7. Dennis Erb Jr.
  8. Josh Richards
  9. Dale Hollidge
  10. Jason Covert
  11. Kyle Hardy
  12. Matt Cosner
  13. Steve Casebolt
  14. Brent Larson
  15. Gene Knaub
  16. Gordy Gundaker
  17. Tyler Horst
  18. Coleby Frye
  19. Mason Zeigler
  20. Shaun Jones
  21. Boom Briggs
  22. Justin Weaver
  23. Chad Julius
  24. Dan Stone
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Shane Clanton celebrates his World of Outlaws victory at Williams Grove Speedway.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., rolled to a flag-to-flag victory worth $10,000 in Friday’s 40-lap World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series opener at Williams Grove Speedway. He outgunned polesitter Ryan Gustin for the lead on the opening circuit and turned back Max Blair after a caution with 10 laps remaining to beat the Pennsylvania driver by 1.492 seconds.
Quotable: “When you turn into the corner, if you turn in too low, you just shove and go across the racetrack, and (Gustin) went flying across it,” Clanton said of his opening-lap pass that propelled him to victory. “I just entered hard enough into the turn to get below him in turn two and that was all I needed.”
Key notes: Clanton recorded his second World of Outlaws victory of 2022 and 47th of his career. His previous win this season came July 15 at River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks, N.D. ... Blair also slipped past Gustin on the opening lap and ran in second for the entire distance. He thought his best chance to battle Clanton for the win would have been if the lap-30 caution flag hadn’t been necessary. … Gustin settled for a third-place finish in a brand-new XR1 Rocket car; he “felt like I gave it away there” when he slid up the track at the initial start. … Tanner English placed fifth in his first-ever start at Williams Grove. … G.R. Smith of Cornelius, N.C., was transported to a local hospital after a head-on collision with the turn-three wall in his heat race. He was moving and communicating with officials but was taken in for further evaluation as a precautionary measure. ... Action moves to Sharon Speedway on Saturday before concluding the tripleheader with a visit Tri-City Raceway Park in Franklin, Pa., on Sunday.
On the move: In a car fielded by Matt Cosner, Eddie Carrier Jr. of Fairmont, W.Va., started 14th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Clanton’s Skyline Motorsports Capital Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Skyline Materials, Bennett Explosives, Super K Express, Brown Heavy Equipment, Lucas Products, Truck County, Bruening Rock Products, Olson Explosives, Freeman Plumbing, Hoosier Racing Tire and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: After Williams Grove: 1. Dennis Erb Jr. (4,076); 2. Tanner English (3,918); 3. Max Blair (3,902); 4. Ryan Gustin (3,722); 5. Brent Larson (3,650); 6. Josh Richards (3,604); 7. Gordy Gundaker (3,586); 8. Boom Briggs (3,430); 9. Shane Clanton (2,688).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Dennis Erb Jr.
Time: 19.636 seconds
Polesitter: Ryan Gustin
Heat race winners: Dennis Erb Jr., Shane Clanton, Ryan Gustin
Consolation race winners: Kyle Hardy
Next series race: August 20, Sharon Speedway (Hartford, OH) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Gustin, Clanton
Row 2: English, Blair
Row 3: Eckert, Erb
Row 4: Hollidge, Cosner
Row 5: Richards, Zeigler
Row 6: Covert, Weaver
Row 7: Stone, Carrier
Row 8: Frye, Julius
Row 9: Gundaker, Larson
Row 10: Hardy, Knaub
Row 11: Casebolt, Jones
Row 12: Briggs, Horst
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information