Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/23/2024 18:03:49

Sponsor 743
July 30
Elkins Raceway,
Kerens, WV
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Jim Stout Memorial) - $5,037
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated August 1, 1:40 am)
Hawkins wins $5,037 Stout Memorial at Elkins
Jim Stout Memorial
  1. Jacob Hawkins
  2. Zack Dohm
  3. Tyler Carpenter
  4. Cody Rogers
  5. Shane Hitt
  6. Russell Erwin
  7. Billy Holbert
  8. Mike Benedum
  9. Derek Rogers
  10. Travis Stickley
  11. Logan Hitt
  12. Michael Lake
  13. Tyler Bare
  14. Ace Howdershelt
  15. Ricky Strattis
  16. Ethan Ours
  17. Bob Gordon
  18. Dylan Lewis
  19. Chad Tasker
  20. Dusty Harper
  21. Logan Reed
  22. Tim Senic
  23. Colton Collins
presented by
What won the race: Jacob Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., emerged victorious in Saturday's second annual Jim Stout Memorial feature at Elkins Raceway, continuing his career season in the Dirt Late Model division with an emotional checkered flag worth $5,037. He shot forward from the third starting to assume command and beat fellow West Virginian Zack Dohm to the finish.
Key notes: The triumph was Hawkins's sixth overall of the 2022 campaign and came four weeks after he recorded a career-high $20,000 win at Beckley (W.Va.) Motor Speedway. ... Adding an emotional element to the victory for Hawkins and his C.J. Johnson-owned team, the race was run in memory of Jim Stout, of Brushy Fork, W.Va., a well-known racing figure in and around his home state who was a part-owner of Hawkins’s C.J. Johnson Motorsports No. 37. Stout passed away in May 2021 at the age of 64 after suffering an apparent heart attack. ... It was the second straight year that Hawkins won the race held in honor of the man who was instrumental in his team's founding. ... Seventh-starting Tyler Carpenter of Parkersburg, W.Va., advanced five positions en route to a third-place finish. ... Polesitter Cody Rogers of Spelter, W.Va., who won at Elkins on June 25, placed fourth. ... Fellow Spelter-native Derek Rogers advanced five positions and finished eighth. ... Saturday's feature at Elkins Raceway served as the track's largest winner's payout of the year.
On the move: Billy Holbert of Fairmont, W.Va., started 17th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Hawkins drives a C.J. Johnson Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by J&J Farms, Middletown Homes, Cash Cabins, Bobby Lake Motorsports, MRRI, Melvin’s Transmission, OFK and Reed’s Grooving Services.
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Cody Rogers
Time: 14.691 seconds
Polesitter: Cody Rogers
Dash winner: Cody Rogers
Heat race winners: Tyler Carpenter, Travis Stickley, Tyler Bare
Editor's note: Fixes winner from Dohm to Hawkins; fixes remainder of finish

Feature lineup

Row 1: C. Rogers, Erwin
Row 2: Jac. Hawkins, Z. Dohm
Row 3: S. Hitt, Benedum
Row 4: T. Carpenter, Stickley
Row 5: Bare, Lake
Row 6: Gordon, L. Hitt
Row 7: Senic, D. Rogers
Row 8: Tasker, Ours
Row 9: Holbert, Lewis
Row 10: Harper, Reed
Row 11: Howdershelt, Collins
Row 12: Strattis

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information