Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 06:54:21

Sponsor 743
April 12
Macon Speedway,
Macon, IL
Sanction: Midwest Big 10 Series - $1,200
Information provided by: Patrick Davis and track reports (last updated April 14, 1:50 pm)
Little denies Sheppard Big 10 sweep, rules Macon
  1. Ryan Little
  2. Steve Sheppard Jr.
  3. Matt Taylor
  4. Greg Kimmons
  5. Jake Little
  6. Roger Brickler
  7. John Beck
  8. Jeff Beyers
  9. Joseph Hughes
  10. Andrew Barnes
  11. Braden Johnson
  12. Jeremy Nichols
  13. Steve Leach
  14. Dick Taylor
presented by
Brian Jackson
Ryan Little (38L) battles Steve Sheppard Jr. (5s) at Macon.
What won the race: Second-starting Ryan Little of Springfield, Ill., paced all 30 laps, fighting off several charges from fellow front-row starter and Illini driver Steve Sheppard Jr. of New Berlin, to secure the $1,200 payday and his first Big 10 victory.
Quotable: “I almost didn’t come because I hurt my neck last night in Jacksonville,’’ Little said.
Key notes: Little earned his first victory of 2014; he finished third in Friday's event at Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway. ... The 30-lapper was slowed by a trio of cautions. ... Fast qualifier Jeremy Nichols of Shelbyville, Ill., slammed the wall on the eighth lap; his car briefly caught fire but it was quickly extinguished and the driver was not harmed. ... Braden Johnson of Mowequa, Ill., drew a pair of cautions for unassisted spins and was forced to retire. ... Macon is one of four Big 10 Series tracks, along with Jacksonville, Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway, and newcomer Quincy (Ill.) Raceway. ... The historic fifth-mile track kicked off its 69th season.
On the move: Matt Taylor, also of Springfield, stormed from 10th to finish third.
Points chase: Despite settling for second, Sheppard, who won Friday at Jacksonville, is once again on top in the early chase for the $5,000 points fund that pays $2,000 to the winner.
Car count: 16
Fast qualifier: Jeremy Nichols
Time: 10.973 seconds
Polesitter: Steve Sheppard Jr.
Heat race winners: Steve Sheppard Jr., Ryan Little
Next series race: May 10, Macon Speedway (Macon, IL) $1,200
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728