Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 00:07:24

Sponsor 743
July 6
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 7, 5:28 pm)
O'Neal outruns Overton, Marlar for Davenport win
  1. Hudson O'Neal
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. Mike Marlar
  4. Jimmy Owens
  5. Spencer Hughes
  6. Tim McCreadie
  7. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  8. Ryan Gustin
  9. Brandon Sheppard
  10. Daulton Wilson
  11. Kyle Strickler
  12. Tyler Bruening
  13. Cade Dillard
  14. Garrett Alberson
  15. Earl Pearson Jr.
  16. Nick Hoffman
  17. Johnny Scott
  18. Ross Robinson
  19. Tyler Erb
  20. Shannon Babb
  21. Chris Simpson
  22. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  23. Ricky Weiss
  24. Chad Simpson
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Hudson O’Neal celebrates his first Lucas Oil victory of 2022.
What won the race: Winning a thriller over previous race leaders Mike Marlar and Brandon Overton, third-starting Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., stormed to the $10,000 victory in Wednesday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Davenport Speedway. He finished 0.589 of a second ahead of polesitter Overton with Marlar third on the track’s quarter-mile layout.
Quotable: "I feel a lot of emotions right now. It's no secret that this year hasn't been anything like last year and my team man, we just kept digging and kept digging. I've got an awesome support system behind me with (team owner) Roger Sellers and my whole team, Trevor, Eric, Mason, just everybody back at the shop, Tom Buckingham, the Sellers family," O'Neal said. "It's pretty amazing man. We just kept clawing and clawing and clawing and it's finally, finally starting to show, hopefully. Man, I'm just so, so excited. To get (to) July and just now get our first win, it's tested our patience a lot. But I have a hell of a team and we just never give up."
Key notes: Hudson O'Neal, who had six series victories last season, won his first of 2022 and first since Oct. 2, 2021, at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. ... O'Neal led the first lap, then laps 33-40. ... Overton led laps 2-12. ... Marlar led laps 13-33. ... Two cautions slowed the action. ... Ross Robinson slowed for a lap-16 yellow. ... Tyler Erb slowed at halfway to draw a yellow. ... The national tour made its first visit to Davenport since June 21, 2005, when Muscatine's Brian Birkhofer grabbed a victory on the half-mile layout at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds. ... Modifiied ace Nick Hoffman piloted a Shannon Babb Racing Team Zero car, finishing 16th, while Babb was 20th in his Rocket Chassis. ... Justin Kay won the night's IMCA Late Model feature. ... The night's action was presented by HD Equipment.
On the move: Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., started ninth and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: O’Neal’s Double Down Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Lazydays RV, O’Neal’s Salvage and Recycling, 2150 Enterprises, WR1 Sim Chassis, Smoky Mountain Speedway, VP Racing Fuels, Tarpy Trucking, Integra Racing Shocks, Matco Tools, Midwest Sheet Metal, FK Rod Ends and Lucas Oil.
Points chase: After Davenport: 1. Brandon Sheppard (4,150); 2. Tim McCreadie (4,120); 3. Ricky Thornton Jr. (3,950); 4. Tyler Erb (3,820); 5. Hudson O’Neal (3,735); 6. Earl Pearson Jr. (3,665); 7. Garrett Alberson (3,390); 8. Ashton Winger (3,220); 9. Daulton Wilson (3,185); 10. Spencer Hughes (3,130).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Brandon Overton
Time: 13.617 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Overton
Heat race winners: Brandon Overton, Hudson O'Neal, Mike Marlar, Earl Pearson Jr.
Consolation race winners: Ryan Gustin, Chad Simpson
Provisional starters: Ricky Thornton Jr., Daulton Wilson
Next series race: July 7, Deer Creek Speedway (Spring Valley, MN) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Overton, Marlar
Row 2: O'Neal, Pearson
Row 3: Strickler, Hughes
Row 4: Heckenast, McCreadie
Row 5: Owens, Chr. Simpson
Row 6: Alberson, Sheppard
Row 7: Erb, Hoffman
Row 8: Babb, Robinson
Row 9: Gustin, Cha. Simpson
Row 10: Weiss, Dillard
Row 11: Bruening, Scott
Row 12: Thornton, Wilson
Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information