Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/21/2024 04:57:47

Sponsor 743
July 2
34 Raceway,
West Burlington, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Slocum 50) - $10,555
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 3, 8:45 am)
Dennis Erb dominates Slocum 50 for $10,555
Slocum 50
  1. Dennis Erb Jr.
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Ryan Gustin
  4. Chris Simpson
  5. Johnny Scott
  6. Terry Phillips
  7. Daniel Hilsabeck
  8. Steve Stultz
  9. Kolby Vandenbergh
  10. Jay Johnson
  11. Spencer Diercks
  12. Aaron Marrant
  13. Brennon Willard
  14. Reid Millard
  15. Justin Reed
  16. Matt Furman
  17. Rickey Frankel
  18. Mark Burgtorf
  19. Johnathan Huston
  20. Matt Mickelson
  21. Johnny Spaw
  22. David Webster
  23. Brandon Queen
  24. Gary Webb
  25. Shannon Babb
  26. Kayden Clatt
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Dennis Erb Jr. takes the checkers for his $10,555 victory.
What won the race: Polesitter Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., led all the way Saturday at 34 Raceway's Slocum 50 for a $10,555 payday and his first career Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory. Erb notched his second career victory at the 3/8-mile oval in taking the checkers 1.531 seconds ahead of fellow front-row starter Chad Simpson after a restart with three laps remaining.
Quotable: "(Crew chief Heather Lyne) told me (Chad Simpson) was starting to close in a little bit," winner Dennis Erb Jr., "so I kinda changed my line a little bit and the car picked up right after that. So we're proud of that.”
Key notes: Chad Simpson pressured Erb with about 15 laps remaining, but the leader edged back away amid traffic. ... Ryan Gustin challenged Erb early in the 50-lapper. ... Erb previously won at 34 Raceway 19 years earlier on the Deery Brothers Summer Series (driving Rob Kirchner's Raider Chassis in the Pepsi Late Model USA Nationals). ... Erb is the current points leader on the World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series and notched his eighth overall victory of the season. ... Erb was seventh in his previous two Slocum 50 starts. ... Tour rookie Daniel Hilsabeck rallied from 10th as high as third, but slipped back to finish seventh. ... The race was slowed by seven cautions, mostly in the first half of the race and mostly for single-driver incidents (eighth-running Kolby Vandenbergh on lap 48, Brennon Willard, Reid Millard, Rickey Frankel and Kayden Clatt among them). ... Seven drivers completed 50 laps. ... The event honored late driver Brenton Slocum, killed in a pit accident at the track. ... MLRA's $7,500-to-win event scheduled for Friday at C.J. Speedway in Columbus Junction, Iowa, was rained out and rescheduled for Aug. 11.
On the move: Steve Stultz of Peoria, Ariz., started 21st and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Erb’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored J.R. McBride Leasing, McBride Mack, VolMac Truck Sales and Service, Ideal Ready Mix, Deegan's Tire & Auto Repair, Tool's Auto Sales, Keyser Mfg., Integra Racing Shocks, Collins Signs, Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Performance Rod & Custom and Allstar Performance.
Points chase: Before 34: 1. Johnny Scott (1,640); 2. Chad Simpson (1,575); 3. Kolby Vandenbergh (1,420); 4. Tad Pospisil (1,355); 5. Daniel Hilsabeck (1,260).
Current weather: Clear, 70°F
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Dennis Erb Jr.
Time: 15.227 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Erb Jr.
Heat race winners: Dennis Erb Jr., Chad Simpson, Ryan Gustin
Next series race: July 7, Deer Creek Speedway (Spring Valley, MN) $5,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's engine builder.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. Erb, Chad Simpson
Row 2: Gustin, Vandenbergh
Row 3: Chris Simpson, J. Scott
Row 4: Babb, Furman
Row 5: Diercks, Hilsabeck
Row 6: Johnson, Phillips
Row 7: Reed, Marrant
Row 8: Frankel, Willard
Row 9: Burgtorf, Clatt
Row 10: Huston, Webb
Row 11: Stultz, Millard
Row 12: Webster, Spaw
Row 13: Queen, Mickelson
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information