Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/09/2022 10:57:23

Sponsor 743
July 1
Portsmouth Raceway Park,
Portsmouth, OH
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Independence 50) - $12,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 2, 2:36 pm)
At rainy PRP, Thornton earns Lucas Oil's $12,000
Independence 50
  1. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  2. Tim McCreadie
  3. Hudson O'Neal
  4. Earl Pearson Jr.
  5. Daulton Wilson
  6. Brandon Sheppard
  7. Tyler Erb
  8. Devin Moran
  9. Rod Conley
  10. Steve Casebolt
  11. Garrett Alberson
  12. Brandon Overton
  13. R.J. Conley
  14. Ashton Winger
  15. Mason Zeigler
  16. Max Blair
  17. Ross Robinson
  18. Spencer Hughes
  19. Brandon Fouts
  20. Nick Bocook
  21. Robby Hensley
  22. Tim Vance
  23. Zack Dohm
  24. Kirk Phillips
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Ricky Thornton Jr. in a wet victory lane at Portsmouth, Ohio.
What won the race: Returning to the site of his richest career victory, Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz., grabbed the lead from race-long pacesetter Daulton Wilson on lap 30 and went on to capture the $12,000 top prize in Friday night’s rain-shortened Independence 50 at Portsmouth Raceway Park. The 2021 Dirt Track World Championship winner was over 2 seconds ahead of Tim McCreadie when heavy rain struck the 3/8-mile oval, forcing officials to declare the race complete with 45 laps scored.
Quotable: “I got under (Wilson) down the back straightaway and I think he thought I was gonna slide him, so he drove into three really hard and kind of slid himself,” Thornton said of his race-winning pass. “I think had he been running the line he was he probably would’ve been all right.”
Key notes: Thornton’s first Lucas Oil Series win of 2022 was the fourth of his career. His last tour triumph came in last October’s $100,000-to-win DTWC. … Thornton and his crew posed for victory lane photos in pouring rain; his post-race interview with announcer James Essex was done in the press box. ... McCreadie followed Thornton by Wilson on lap 30 and held second for the remainder of the distance. … Wilson, a Lucas Oil rookie seeking his first series win, led laps 1-29 before losing the top spot when he slid high in turns three and four. He settled for a fifth-place finish. … The race’s most significant incident came on lap 16 when Tyler Erb slid sideways between turns three and four — after contact with Brandon Overton as they battled for fourth — and was hit hard in his car’s rear end by Spencer Hughes. While Hughes was eliminated and Overton was forced to pit with a left-rear flat, Erb went on to finish seventh with a mangled rear deck. … Other cautions flew for Steve Casebolt’s slow car (lap 16); debris on the homestretch (lap 26); a Garrett Alberson/R.J. Conley tangle (lap 28); and finally on lap 45 for the precipitation. … Pennsylvania’s Cory Lawler escaped injury when he barrel-rolled a couple times between turns one and two during the B-main.
On the move: Rod Conley of Wheelersburg, Ohio, started 18th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Thornton’s SSI Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements engine and sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Dyno One, Excel Floor Covering, Certified Inspection Service, Big River Steel, D&E Outside Services, Dienes-Nitz Solutions & Powdercoating, Sub-Surface of Indiana, West Side Tractor Sales, Shelby Materials and Slicker Graphics.
Points chase: After Portsmouth: 1. Brandon Sheppard (3,715); 2. Tim McCreadie (3,700); 3. Ricky Thornton Jr. (3,570); 4. Tyler Erb (3,465); 5. Earl Pearson Jr. (3,315); 6. Hudson O’Neal (3,245); 7. Ashton Winger (3,070); 8. Garrett Alberson (3,055); 9. Daulton Wilson (2,800); 10. Spencer Hughes (2,735); 11. Devin Moran (2,730); 12. Ross Robinson (2,675).
Current weather: Clear, 79°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Daulton Wilson
Time: 14.546 seconds
Polesitter: Daulton Wilson
Heat race winners: Daulton Wilson, Tim McCreadie, Devin Moran, Brandon Overton
Consolation race winners: Brandon Fouts
Provisional starters: Nick Bocook, Tim Vance
Next series race: July 2, Muskingum County Speedway (Zanesville, OH) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Wilson, Moran
Row 2: McCreadie, Overton
Row 3: Thornton, Erb
Row 4: Sheppard, O'Neal
Row 5: Robinson, Pearson
Row 6: Blair, Winger
Row 7: Casebolt, Conley
Row 8: Hughes, Dohm
Row 9: Fouts, Conley
Row 10: Hensley, Alberson
Row 11: Zeigler, Phillips
Row 12: Bocook, Vance
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728