Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/14/2021 08:43:38

Sponsor 743
October 4
Peoria Speedway,
Peoria, IL
Sanction: UMP DIRTcar special events (non-touring) (Illinois State Championship) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated October 6, 11:33 am)
B-Shepp bags $5,000 in Illinois State Championship
Illinois State Championship
  1. Brandon Sheppard
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. Brian Shirley
  4. Jason Feger
  5. Billy Drake
  6. Ray Guss Jr.
  7. Kevin Weaver
  8. Mike Spatola
  9. Scott Schmitt
  10. Rich Bell
  11. Steve Lance Jr.
  12. Roger Rebholz
  13. Charley Hess
  14. Mitch McGrath
  15. Bob Gardner
  16. John Gardner Jr.
  17. Randy Manos Jr.
  18. Torin Mettille
  19. Todd Bennett
  20. Justin Reed
  21. Tim Lance
presented by
Jeff Hall
Brandon Sheppard collected $5,000 for his Peoria victory.
What won the race: Emerging from a late four-car battle for the lead, Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., collected $5,000 for his victory in the Illinois State Championship. Brian Shirley was in control in the final laps when Jason Feger tried to get underneath and made contact entering turn three. Feger slipped up the track in front of fourth-running Ryan Unzicker while the third-running Sheppard slipped under Shirley to grab the victory.
Quotable: "A little contact there between Feger and Shirley, and I was able to compensate," Sheppard said. "I was right there the whole time — I feel like I had a good enough car to win anyway."
Key notes: Outside front-row starter Ray Guss Jr. led early but Brian Shirley led virtually the entire race before Sheppard slipped under to lead the final laps. ... The feature was 100 laps. ... Every feature starter earned at least $300. ... Four other classes were in action. ... Oct. 11 is Peoria's final weekly racing program, while a car show is planned for Oct. 18 and swap meet for Oct. 25.
Winner's sponsors: Sheppard's Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and is sponsored by Valvoline, Kid's Castle Learning Center, Petroff Towing and Keyser Mfg.
Points chase: Hometown driver Todd Bennett clinched his 10th track championship, tying Don Bohlander for the most in Peoria history.
Car count: 39
Polesitter: Torin Mettille
Heat race winners: Brandon Sheppard, Billy Drake, Kevin Weaver, Jason Feger
Consolation race winners: Justin Reed, Steve Lance Jr.
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728