Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 05:24:20

Sponsor 743
June 29
Benton Speedway,
Benton, MO
Sanction: DIRTcar Summer Nationals - $5,000
Information provided by: Josh James, Jimmy Dearing and series reports (last updated June 30, 11:53 pm)
Unfavorable track conditions cancel Benton event
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
A look at Benton Speedway, hosting its first event in seven seasons.
Key notes: After more than an hour trying to rework the track to the satisfaction of DIRTcar officials, tour director Sam Driggers cancelled the Summer Nationals event just after 8 p.m. The track plans to run an unsanctioned Super Late Model program but series regulars Jason Feger, Brian Shirley, Payton Freeman and Bobby Pierce are among drivers who have left or plan to leave the grounds. ... After four drivers qualified, the rest of the cars lined up were sent back to their pit stalls and a meeting was held at the DIRTcar tent; Driggers asked the track to rework the racing surface before the Late Models hit the track again. ... All 20 entrants were scheduled to start the feature. ... The Rob Russell-owned Benton Speedway, reopened after being shuttered since 2014, is set to host the DIRTcar Summer Nationals for the second time. ... Randy Sellars of Mayfield, Ky., won at what was then called Missouri International Racepark on June 25, 1997, in the tour's opener. ... It was a controversial victory for Sellars, however, because when rain hit the track for a second time and the caution flag was thrown to halt the action on the 17th lap, Wendell Wallace was leading the event. Officials reverted to the previously scored lap, giving Sellars the $5,000 victory. ... The 3/8-mile track hasn't hosted a significant Super Late Model event since May 7, 2004, when Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., won a $10,000 Stacker 2 Xtreme DirtCar Series event (the track was then called Auto & Tire Race Park). ... Among competitors in that event still active: Ray Cook, Earl Pearson Jr., Shane Clanton, Steve Casebolt, Jeep Van Wormer, Kevin Weaver and Jason Feger. ... The property also has a 1/8-mile dragstrip. ... Modifieds, B-mods and factory stocks are also on the Summer Nationals card. ... Watch live at DIRTVision.com.
Who to watch: Series points leader Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., who won three of the first eight series events.
Points chase: Before Benton: 1. Bobby Pierce (798); 2. Brian Shirley (726); 3. Jason Feger (725); 4. Ryan Unzicker (669); 5. Dennis Erb Jr. (590); 6. Payton Freeman (56); 7. Joe Godsey (527); 8. Logan Martin (511); 9. Max Blair (481); 10. Mark Voigt (413).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 20
Next series race: July 1, Paducah International Raceway (Paducah, KY) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From series reports

BENTON, Mo. — Updates from the 13th round of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Benton Speedway, highlighted by a $5,000-to-win event for Super Late Models (results unofficial):

Event cancelled

With the series citing unfavorable track conditions, tour director Sam Driggers cancelled the event after a brief attempt to qualify followed by more than an hour of reworking the track. The race won't be rescheduled. The track continued with an unsanctioned $2,500-to-win program for Super Late Models with Mason Oberkramer of Brosely, Mo., winning over Christian Hanger and Jeff Herzog.

Time trials

(Heats start straightup by qualifying times)

Driver (car no.), hometown
First group
Brent McKinnon (26M), Carlyle, Ill.
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill.
Jeff Herzog (11H), Festus, Mo.
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill.
Kyle Beard (86), Trumann, Ark.
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill.
Paul Stubber (31aus), Bunbury, Australia
Second group
Chris Jones (91j), Neelyville, Mo.
Payton Freeman (F1), Commerce, Ga.
Doug Tye (4D), Collinsville, Ill.
Christian Hanger (15), Winchester, Tenn.
Mick Quin (23nz), Hawks Bay, New Zealand
Deshawn Gingerich (0), Dover, Pa.
Richard Frost (15), Clarksville, Tenn.
Third group
Joe Godsey (14G), Edinburgh, Ind.
Mason Oberkramer (93), Broseley, Mo.
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill.
Jeff Roth (14R), Bentonville, Ark.
Billy Moyer Jr. (21), Batesville, Ark.
Rusty Griffaw (16), Festus, Mo.

Wednesday’s schedule

(All times local)

5:30 p.m. - Drivers’ meeting
6 p.m. - On-track activity
- Late Model hot laps
- Modified hot laps/time trials
- Late Model time trials (2 laps)
- B-mod hot laps
- Factory stock hot laps
Opening ceremonies
- Late Model heat races (10 laps)
- Modified heat races (8 laps)
- B-mod heat races (8 laps)
- Factory stock heat races (8 laps)
- Consolation races (if necessary)
Feature races
- Late Models (40 laps)
- Modifieds (25 laps)
- B-mods (15 laps)
- Factory stocks (15 laps)

Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information