Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/09/2022 11:32:58

Sponsor 743
June 25
Off Road Speedway,
Norfolk, NE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Renegade 50 finale) - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff reports (last updated June 26, 1:19 pm)
Chad Simpson bags MLRA's Off Road finale
Renegade 50 finale
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Johnny Scott
  3. Justin Zeitner
  4. Kolby Vandenbergh
  5. Ben Schaller
  6. Kaeden Cornell
  7. Daniel Hilsabeck
  8. Ben Sukup
  9. Steve Stultz
  10. Kayden Clatt
  11. Eric Vanosdall
  12. Reid Millard
  13. Jon Haase
  14. Tad Pospisil
  15. Chris Johnson
  16. Cale Osborn
  17. Aaron Marrant
  18. Travis Dickes
  19. Andy Eickhoff
  20. Gary Brown Jr.
  21. Al Humphrey
  22. Junior Coover
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Chad Simpson grabbed a $5,000 payday at Off Road Speedway.
What won the race: Taking the lead on lap 23, Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, thwarted the efforts of Johnny Scott of Las Cruces, N.M., and held on to win Saturday's Renegade 50 finale at Off Road Speedway. The $5,000 victory was the 15th of Simpson's career with the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association, ironically placing him in a tie with his brother Chris.
Quotable: “It’s definitely been way too long,” Simpson said of ending a three-year MLRA victory drought. “We struggled last year a little bit and didn’t get a win and it’s fun to finally get back here where we want to be. Early on there I was just kind of conserving and following Tad there. I knew he was good and knows how to get around here. He was just kind of sitting there waiting for them lapped cars and it allowed me to kind of sneak up on him and get around him. Then I just had to stay aggressive with the lapped cars.”
Key notes: Simpson led laps 23-32 before trading sliders and the lead with Scott on lap 33; he regained command for good on the 34th circuit to tally his first MLRA triumph since June 21, 2019, at Iowa's Rapid Speedway. ... After winning Friday's $3,000 weekend opener, Scott settled for the runner-up position, 0.998 of a second behind Simpson. ... Justin Zeitner battled inside the top-three all race and completed the podium. ... Eleventh-starting Ben Schaller advanced six positions and finished fifth. ... Polesitter Tad Pospisil led the first 22 laps at his home track before fading to third place and then being knocked out of the race in a wild series of flips on lap 26. After contact with Simpson led to the lapped Cale Osborn spinning in turn two, Pospisil clipped Osborn and rolled multiple times to trigger a 20-minute red flag but wasn't injured. ... The Renegade 50 was slowed by two cautions and lasted 49 minutes, with nine competitors completing all 50 laps.
On the move: Steve Stultz of Peoria, Ariz., started 16th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Black Diamond Chassis has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine with sponsorship from Ideal Ready Mix, MDI, Freeport Recycling Center, Five Star Shop Service, Burich Trucking, Michelle Reufer Chiropractic, Midwest Sheet Metal, Heath Grimes, Allgaier Racing Shocks, Simpson Farms, Midwest Frame & Axle, Randy Davidson Trucking and Master Built Concrete.
Points chase: After Off Road Saturday: 1. Johnny Scott (1,410); 2. Chad Simpson (1,325); 3. Kolby Vandenbergh (1,210); 4. Tad Pospisil (1,195); 5. Chris Simpson (1,115).
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Tad Pospisil
Time: 13.556 seconds
Heat race winners: Tad Pospisil, Justin Zeitner, Chad Simpson
Next series race: July 1, C.J. Speedway (Columbus Junction, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pospisil, J. Zeitner
Row 2: Chad Simpson, Hilsabeck
Row 3: Marrant, Brown Jr.
Row 4: Vandenbergh, J. Scott
Row 5: Cornell, Osborn
Row 6: Schaller, Sukup
Row 7: Humphrey, Dickes
Row 8: Clatt, Stultz
Row 9: Vanosdall, Haase
Row 10: Millard, Johnson
Row 11: Coover, Eickhoff
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728