Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/09/2022 11:38:07

Sponsor 743
June 15
Peoria Speedway,
Peoria, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Summer Nationals - $5,000
Information provided by: Todd Turner (last updated June 17, 6:38 am)
Pierce outruns Feger, grabs Peoria's $5,000
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Jason Feger
  3. Brian Shirley
  4. Ryan Unzicker
  5. Billy Moyer Jr.
  6. Dennis Erb Jr.
  7. Drake Troutman
  8. Joe Godsey
  9. Jordan Bauer
  10. Payton Freeman
  11. Todd Bennett
  12. Tommy Sheppard Jr.
  13. Bob Gardner
  14. Preston Luckman
  15. Rich Bell
  16. Mark Voigt
  17. Logan Martin
  18. Brent McKinnon
  19. Paul Parker
  20. Mike Provenzano
  21. Curtis Roberts
  22. Brandon Lance
presented by
Brendon Bauman/brendonbauman.com
Bobby Pierce's winning team in Peoria's victory lane.
What won the race: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., dove under Jason Feger entering turn one on the 11th lap Wednesday at Peoria Speedway and raced to a $5,000 victory in the second round of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Pierce took the checkers 2.671 seconds ahead of Feger for his 41st career tour victory in the caution-free 40-lapper.
Key notes: Pierce lapped all but seven competitors. ... He also won at Peoria last season. ... Pierce's biggest issue was returning to the track after going to tech inspection; when he returned at the turn-two entrance to return to victory lane ceremonies, he briefly came nose-to-nose with Curtis Roberts, who was exiting the track. ... Jason Feger led the first 10 laps with most competitors running high. When he lost momentum trying to get under a slower car exiting turn four, Pierce dove low and beat Feger into turn one to take command. ... Feger drew close to Pierce with 10 laps remaining, but Pierce ended his chances when he split a pair of lapped cars and pulled away again. ... A first-lap scramble in the second heat involved more than half the field and resulted in Ryan Unzicker’s machine perched partly atop Mike Provenzano’s car. Track workers used two tow trucks to lift Unzicker’s car, ease Provenzano’s away and return Unzicker’s to all four wheels. .... Hunt Gossum got a piece of the accident and broke a rear axle tube; without a replacement, he planned to head back to Mayfield, Ky., and rejoin the tour later. ... Swiss-born Thomas Hunziker of Bend, Ore., the darling of last year’s Summer Nationals, has been sidelined by shoulder surgery but plans to join the tour in a few weeks, according to tour announcer Ruben Mireles. ... Peoria hosted its 21st tour event.
On the move: Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., started eighth and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Allgayer Inc., Rio Grande Waste Services, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Extreme Electric, Toyota of Danville, Quality Paint & Body, Base Racing Fuels, Senior Life Insurance and the Vermilion County Bobcats.
Points chase: After Peoria: 1. Bobby Pierce (155); 2. Ryan Unzicker (145); 3. Jason Feger (135); 4. Dennis Erb Jr. (125); 5. Brian Shirley (121); 6. Drake Troutman (118); 7. Billy Moyer Jr. (113); 8. Payton Freeman (102); 9. Joe Godsey (94); 10. Tommy Sheppard Jr. (91).
Current weather: Clear, 88°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Brian Shirley
Time: 11.753 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Shirley
Heat race winners: Brian Shirley, Dennis Erb Jr., Jason Feger
Consolation race winners: Tommy Sheppard Jr.
Provisional starters: Curtis Roberts, Brent McKinnon, Brandon Lance, Mike Provenzano
Next series race: June 17, Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From staff reports

PEORIA, Ill. — Updates and results from Wednesday’s second round of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Peoria Speedway, highlighted by a $5,000-to-win Super Late Model event (results unofficial):


Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., dove under Jason Feger entering turn one on the 11th lap Wednesday at Peoria Speedway and raced to a $5,000 victory in the second round of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Pierce took the checkers 2.671 seconds ahead of Feger for his 41st career tour victory in the caution-free 40-lapper.

Feature lineup

(40 laps)

Row 1: Brian Shirley, Hason Feger
Row 2: Dennis Erb Jr., Bobby Pierce
Row 3: Joe Godsey, Drake Troutman
Row 4: Billy Moyer Jr, Ryan Unzicker
Row 5: Todd Bennett, Jordan Bauer
Row 6: Bob Gardner, Payton Freeman
Row 7: Rich Bell, Preston Luckman
Row 8: Logan Martin, Tommy Sheppard Jr.
Row 9: Mark Voigt, Paul Parker
Row 10: Curtis Roberts, Brett McKinnon
Row 11: Brandon Lance, Mike Provenzano

Consolation race results

(10 laps; top three transfer)

Consolation: Tommy Sheppard Jr., Mark Voigt, Paul Parker, Mike Provenzano, Curtis Roberts, Jeff Roth, Rich Dawson, Brent McKinnon, Deshawn Gingerich, Paul Stubber, Brandon Lance, Mick Quin, Tim Gauntt, Doug Tye. Scratched: Hunt Gossum, Justin Duty.

Heat race results

(10 laps; top five transfer)

First heat: Brian Shirley, Bobby Pierce, Billy Moyer Jr., Jordan Bauer, Rich Bell, Tommy Sheppard Jr., Rich Dawson, Brent McKinnon, Jeff Roth, Tim Gauntt, Mick Quin.

Second heat: Dennis Erb Jr., Joe Godsey, Ryan Unzicker, Bob Gardner, Preston Luckman, Mark Voigt, Justin Duty, Mike Provenzano, Deshawn Gingerich, Hunt Gossum.

Third heat finish: Jason Feger, Drake Troutman, Todd Bennett, Payton Freeman, Logan Martin, Paul Parker, Curits Roberts, Doug Tye, Paul Stubber, Brandon Lance.

Time trials

(Heat races start straightup by qualifying times)

Driver (car no.), hometown
First group
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 11.753
Jordan Bauer (10J), St. Jacob, Ill., 11.790
Billy Moyer Jr. (21), Batesville, Ark., 11.896
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 11.979
Rich Dawson (80), Lowell, Ind., 12.005
Rich Bell (21B), Sheffield, Ill., 12.069
Brent McKinnon (26M), Carlyle, Ill., 12.169
Tommy Sheppard (T6), New Berlin, Ill., 12.495
Jeff Roth (14R), Bentonville, Ark., 12.609
Mick Quin (23nz), Hawks Bay, New Zealand, 13.045
Tim Gauntt (T8), Brighton, Ill., 13.530
Second group
Joe Godsey (14G), Edinburgh, Ind., 11.901
Bob Gardner (4G), East Peoria, Ill., 12.157
Deshawn Gingerich (0), Dover, Pa., 12.249
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 12.274
Preston Luckman (77), Coos Bay, Ore., 12.304
Hunt Gossum (99), Mayfield, Ky., 12.355
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 12.444
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 12.471
Mike Provenzano (M27), Marseilles, Ill., 12.800
Justin Duty (15), Mulino, Ore., no time
Third group
Drake Troutman (7T), Hyndman, Pa., 12.289
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 12.384
Payton Freeman (F1), Commerce, Ga., 12.408
Todd Bennett (T2), Peoria, Ill., 12.574
Logan Martin (36), West Plains, Mo., 12.589
Paul Stubber (31aus), Bunbury, Australia, 12.684
Paul Parker (10), Kaukauna, Wis., 12.777
Doug Tye (4D), Collinsville, Ill., 12.970
Brandon Lance (248), Brimfield, Ill., 13.326
Curtis Roberts (9r), Coleman, Mich., no time

Wednesday’s schedule

(All times local)
5:30 p.m. - Drivers’ meeting
6 p.m. - On-track activity
- Super Late Model hot laps
- Modified hot laps/time trials
- Super Late Model time trials
- B-mods hot laps/time trials
Opening ceremonies
- B-mod heat races (8 laps)
- Super Late Model heat races (10 laps)
- Modified heat races (8 laps)
- Super Late Model consolation (10 laps; if necessary)
- Modified consolation (10 laps; if necessary)
Feature races
- B-mods (15 laps)
- Super Late Models (40 laps)
- Modifieds (25 laps)

Feature lineup

Row 1: Shirley, Feger
Row 2: D. Erb, Pierce
Row 3: Godsey, Troutman
Row 4: Moyer Jr, Unzicker
Row 5: Bennett, Bauer
Row 6: Gardner, Freeman
Row 7: Bell, Luckman
Row 8: Martin, T. Sheppard
Row 9: Voigt, Parker
Row 10: Roberts, McKinnon
Row 11: B. Lance, M. Provenzano

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728