Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 09:12:02

Sponsor 743
October 11
West Liberty Raceway,
West Liberty, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (Ideal Ready Mix Liberty 100) - $3,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and team reports (last updated October 13, 9:35 am)
Kay sweeps to $6,000 payday at Liberty 100
Ideal Ready Mix Liberty 100
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Denny Eckrich
  3. Nate Beuseling
  4. Colby Springsteen
  5. Ryan Dolan
  6. Mike Murphy Jr.
  7. Ray Guss Jr.
  8. Kyle Hinrichs
  9. Andy Eckrich
  10. Todd Malmstrom
  11. Tommy Elston
  12. Joel Callahan
  13. Jeff Aikey
  14. Tyler Bruening
  15. Jonathan Brauns
  16. Chad Holladay
  17. Todd Malmstrom
  18. Ron Boyse
  19. Rob Moss
  20. Nick Marolf
  21. Jeremy Grady
  22. Brian Harris
  23. Scott Fitzpatrick
  24. Jason Rauen
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Series champ Justin Kay heads to victory in the first feature.
What won the race: Celebrating his IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series championship, Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, wrapped up the season in style by sweeping the Liberty 100. Kay earned his first $3,000 in the series finale 50-lapper, then rallied from 21st in the second non-series feature for another $3,000.
Key notes: Kay's left-front tire was flat in victory lane after the first 50-lapper. ... His West Liberty victory makes Kay's sixth IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series triumph in 14 events. ... Ray Guss Jr., Todd Malmstrom and Nate Beuseling were all early leaders before Kay took over on lap 43. ... In the second feature, Justin Kay charged from the 20th starting spot to take the checkers over Ryan Dolan, Denny Eckrich and Andy Eckrich. ... The event was postponed one weekend by rain. ... Two rounds of preliminaries were completed Friday along with the 25-lap, $1,000-to-win Ironman Challenge (for former series champs and drivers with perfect attendance in 2014), won by Andy Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa.
On the move: Ryan Dolan of Lisbon, Iowa, finished fifth and received hard charger honors in Saturday's series finale.
Winner's sponsors: Kay drives a Barry Wright Race Car with sponsorship from Heinee Jo's, Jr's Place, Kay Farms & Elevator, Kay & Sons Trucking, Petersen Insurance and Wheatland Ag Center.
Points chase: Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, clinched the 2014 Deery Brothers Summer Series championship over Andy Eckrich. He is the fifth different driver to clinch the IMCA national points title and Deery Bros. title in the same season.
Car count: 38
Heat race winners: Ray Guss Jr., Justin Kay, Jason Rauen, Ron Boyse, Todd Malmstrom, Andy Eckrich, Nate Beuseling, Brian Harris
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728