Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/16/2022 14:12:50

Sponsor 743
June 2
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Supers - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff and series reports (last updated June 3, 3:54 pm)
Gustin bags $5,000 after Larson's Tri-City demise
  1. Ryan Gustin
  2. Kyle Bronson
  3. Dennis Erb Jr.
  4. Max Blair
  5. Tanner English
  6. Kyle Hammer
  7. Billy Moyer
  8. Daryn Klein
  9. Dylan Thompson
  10. Mark Voigt
  11. Jeff Herzog
  12. Jason Riggs
  13. Brent McKinnon
  14. Paul Kuper
  15. Billy Laycock
  16. Rusty Griffaw
  17. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  18. Tony Jackson Jr.
  19. Gordy Gundaker
  20. Kyle Larson
  21. Johnny Scott
  22. Bobby Pierce
  23. Shannon Babb
  24. Trevor Gundaker
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Ryan Gustin celebrates Wednesday's $5,000 victory at Tri-City.
What won the race: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, inherited the lead on lap 11 after polesitter Kyle Larson ended up against the turn-one wall and cruised to the $5,000 victory at Tri-City Speedway. Gustin led 20 of 30 laps and took the checkers three seconds ahead of Kyle Bronson for his second victory in four races overall.
Quotable: “We were really, really tight there toward the end, especially when (the track) started to clean up,” Gustin said. “I wasn’t going nearly as hard as (early leader Kyle Larson) was there at the beginning. I don’t know what happened, if something broke or what, but Kyle Larson don’t normally do that."
Key notes: Kyle Larson of Elk Grove, Calif., had a comfortable three-second lead when his car got into the wall at the end of the frontstretch and ended his race. ... Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., led the opening lap but retired on the fourth lap to take precautions against an overheating engine. ... Three cautions slowed the 30-lap event added late Wednesday night after the Castrol FloRacing Night in America event was rained out at the 3/8-mile oval outside St. Louis. ... The $5,000-to-win non-touring event shared the stage with the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets.
On the move: Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., started 15th and finish seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Gustin’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Tri-Star Engines and Transmissions, Mahle, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, ML Performance, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Performance Bodies & Parts, Swift Springs, VP Racing Fuels, Penske Racing Shocks and Ramirez Motorsports.
Current weather: Clear, 57°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Kyle Larson
Time: 15.400 seconds
Polesitter: Kyle Larson
Heat race winners: Kyle Larson, Max Blair, Bobby Pierce, Ryan Gustin
Consolation race winners: Trevor Gundaker, Frank Heckenast Jr.
Editor's note: Corrects car count.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Larson, Pierce
Row 2: Blair, Gustin
Row 3: English, Bronson
Row 4: Erb, Hammer
Row 5: Herzog, Babb
Row 6: Klein, Jackson
Row 7: Scott, Riggs
Row 8: Moyer, Voigt
Row 9: Heckenast, T. Gundaker
Row 10: Kuper, Thompson
Row 11: Griffaw, Laycock
Row 12: McKinnon, G. Gundaker

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728