Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 11:51:49

Sponsor 743
May 29
Lake Cumberland Speedway,
Burnside, KY
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Johnny Wheeler Memorial) - $5,031
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 30, 3:21 am)
Beets goes back-to-back at Lake Cumberland
Johnny Wheeler Memorial
  1. Eli Beets
  2. Justin Rattliff
  3. Michael Chilton
  4. Stacy Boles
  5. Chris Combs
  6. Camaron Marlar
  7. Mack McCarter
  8. Daulton Wilson
  9. Matt Henderson
  10. A.J. Lay
  11. Kirk Phillips
  12. Rod Carter Jr.
  13. Dakotah Knuckles
  14. Shane Irvin
  15. Kenny Cobble
  16. Shane Bailey
  17. Brady Lear
presented by
What won the race: Second-starting Eli Beets of Knoxville, Tenn., led all 40 laps Saturday at Lake Cumberland Speedway to capture his second straight Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Series feature. He pocketed $5,031 in winning the fifth annual Johnny Wheeler Memorial.
Key notes: The first-year Super Late Model driver picked up his second career open-motor victory, taking the checkers 2.986 seconds ahead of Campbellsville, Ky.'s Justin Rattliff. ... Despite being involved in an early caution, eighth-starting Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky. rounded out the podium while polesitter Stacy Boles of Clinton, Tenn., placed fourth. ... Shane Bailey, Kenny Cobble and Brady Lear were eliminated in a turn-two tangle on the first lap. ... A four-car pileup on the second lap included Chilton, Kirk Phillips, Dakotah Knuckles and Shane Irvin, who was eliminated. ... The event honored the second-generation racer from Campbellsville, Ky., who died May 29, 2018. A champion at a number of Kentucky tracks, including Lake Cumberland, Wheeler was also a six-time Battle of the Bluegrass winner.
On the move: Camaron Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., started 17th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Beets drives a Capital Race Car powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by TMC Transportation, C&C Specialized and Hoosier Tire South.
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Stacy Boles
Time: 13.293 seconds
Polesitter: Stacy Boles
Heat race winners: Stacy Boles, Eli Beets
Next series race: May 30, 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN) $10,052
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Boles, Beets
Row 2: McCarter, Carter Jr.
Row 3: Rattliff, Wilson
Row 4: Combs, Henderson
Row 5: Chilton, Phillips
Row 6: Knuckles, Bailey
Row 7: Cobble, Lay
Row 8: Irvin, Lear
Row 9: Marlar

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information