Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 11/28/2022 05:02:58

Sponsor 743
May 29
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: DIRTcar Supers (Johnny Appleseed Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated May 30, 3:01 am)
Terbo survives to capture Big E's Johnny Appleseed
Johnny Appleseed Classic
  1. Tyler Erb
  2. Kyle Strickler
  3. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  4. Ricky Weiss
  5. Spencer Hughes
  6. Kye Blight
  7. Terry Rushlow
  8. Dustin Nobbe
  9. Casey Noonan
  10. Kody Evans
  11. Bobby Pierce
  12. Rod Conley
  13. Kyle Bronson
  14. Jonathan Davenport
  15. Brenden Smith
  16. Austin Neely
  17. Devin Moran
  18. Darrell Lanigan
  19. Ashton Winger
  20. Scott James
  21. Josh Rice
  22. Ryan Gustin
  23. Jerry Bowersock
  24. Freddie Carpenter
  25. Ryan Missler
  26. Josh Richards
presented by
Tyler Carr
The Best Performance Motorsports team in victory lane.
What won the race: Winning a survival-of-the-fittest battle in Eldora Speedway's Johnny Appleseed Classic on Sunday night, ninth-starting Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, led the final 13 circuits of the 30-lap feature for a $5,000 payday in a race where multiple leaders fell by the wayside. Bobby Pierce blew a right-rear tire on lap 18, Kyle Bronson hit the wall on the 12th lap and Darrell Lanigan retired on lap seven after leading the first two laps in rugged conditions.
Quotable: “Kyle was letting it eat at the beginning and he broke, then Bobby had a flat there and kind of the same thing," Erb said. "So I was just trying to run the best line I could run to try to keep the nose on this thing. I about gave it away with two (laps) to go they're getting into (turn) three, but it was awesome man. We came here a month ago or whatever. Just terrible. Bad decisions on our part. We brought ol’ Silver Bullet back out and it’s been good.”
Key notes: Leader Kyle Bronson got into the wall on the 10th lap and sustained extreme right-front damage. ... Jonathan Davenport, who ran as high as third, retired with damage from a slap of the backstretch wall during a lap-10 caution. ... Ten total cautions slowed the action, including when Josh Richards sought medical attention after a first-lap incident when he was struck by a dirt clod kicked up off the racing surface. Team owner Boom Briggs said Richards was taken to a nearby hospital and treated for a broken nose and teeth, among other possible facial injuries (see DirtWire). ... Polesitter Casey Noonan spun on the frontstretch on lap 27. ... Kody Evans slowed for a lap-23 caution. ... Brenden Smith slowed on the 11th lap. ... On the eighth lap, Ashton Winger retired with left-front damage and early leader Darrell Lanigan retired with nosepiece issues. ... Debris caused lap-five and lap-16 cautions. ... A lap-four yellow appeared for a slowing Freddie Carpenter. ... In the opening heat, fast qualifier Kyle Strickler shredded a left-rear tire and suffered body damage after first-lap contact with Ryan Gustin. He started 25th in the main event and rallied to second. ... All 27 entrants started the feature. ... Devin Moran picked up his hardware for his 2021 track championship before the night's action. ... The Johnny Appleseed Classic marked the final tuneup at Eldora before next month's Million and Dream.
On the move: Runner-up Kyle Strickler of Mooresville, N.C., started 25th.
Winner's sponsors: Erb’s winning Best Performance Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by an Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by First Class Septic, Roberts Bee Company, Terbo Threads, M&W Transport, Central Coast Tires, Bazell Race Fuels, Bulk Material Lift, Sunoco, Keyser Mfg., Lucas Oil, Integra, R&R Design, Day Motorsports and Hoosier Racing Tires.
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 73°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Kyle Strickler
Time: 14.948 seconds
Polesitter: Casey Noonan
Heat race winners: Kyle Bronson, Casey Noonan, Darrell Lanigan
Editor's note: Updates with condition of Josh Richards.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Noonan, Lanigan
Row 2: Bronson, Hughes
Row 3: Heckenast, Pierce
Row 4: Moran, Davenport
Row 5: T. Erb, F. Carpenter
Row 6: James, Winger
Row 7: B. Smith, Neely
Row 8: Richards, Weiss
Row 9: Missler, Rod Conley
Row 10: Gustin, Bowersock
Row 11: Nobbe, Rice
Row 12: Evans, Rushlow
Row 13: Strickler, Haskell
Row 14: Blight

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728