Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 11/28/2022 05:49:34

Sponsor 743
May 28
Lake View Motor Speedway,
Lake View, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 30, 10:05 am)
Watkins rules Clash foes at Lake View
  1. Ben Watkins
  2. Dennis Franklin
  3. Michael Rouse
  4. Christian Thomas
  5. Adam Yarbrough
  6. Daniel Tucker
  7. Mike Huey
  8. David Yandle
  9. Brandon Marshall
  10. Josh Richeson
  11. Brian Strickland
  12. Ron Geehring II
  13. Dean Bowen
  14. Corey Gordon
  15. Willie Milliken
  16. David Baker
  17. Mike Parker
  18. Gray Parton
  19. John Henderson
  20. Brad Fowler
  21. Blake Sanderson
  22. Mark Prince
  23. Dale Arnold
presented by
What won the race: Fast qualifier Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., captured his sixth career Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series on Saturday at Lake View Motor Speedway, collecting $5,000. Leading all the way, he took the checkers 2.407 seconds ahead of Dennis Franklin in a caution-plagued 40-lapper.
Quotable: “I really wanted to get going and get a good rhythm," Watkins said of the frequently slowed event. "This track's known for at times being hard on tires. so I got that in the back of my mind the whole time. And I'm like, when we can't complete a lap, I'm putting wear on the tires. Everything’s going through your mind, especially leading, then all the caution laps to think about it. But luckily everything held together and we was able to pull it off.”
Key notes: Dean Bowen of Whiteville, N.C., held the second spot past the halfway point before retiring on lap 22. ... Series point leader Adam Yarbrough of Denver, N.C., finished fifth. … Among stoppages came when Brian Strickland's car got upside down entering turn three; no injuries were reported. ... Other cautions included one for Willie Milliken in turn four midway through the race. ... Mike Parker spun in turn three after halfway. ... Five cars were caught up in a turn-four wreck shortly after a lap-nine restart. ... Mark Prince ended up facing the wrong way on the frontstretch early in the feature. ... Eight drivers completed 40 laps.
On the move: Brandon Marshall of Fayetteville, N.C., started 20th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Watkins drives a Longhorn Chassis with a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship WP Racing shocks, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Sandwood Company, Craig Industries, John Page Racing, Bilstein Shocks, VP Racing Fuels, Allstar Performance and Collins Signs.
Points chase: After Lake View, 1. Dennis Franklin (522); 2. Adam Yarbrough (511); 3. David Yandle (452); 4. Mike Huey (448); 5. John Price (392).
Current weather: Clear, 82°F
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Ben Watkins
Next series race: June 4, Harris Speedway (Rutherfordton, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Watkins, Bowen
Row 2: Rouse, Franklin
Row 3: Yarbrough, Thomas
Row 4: Gordon, Strickland
Row 5: Yandle, Tucker
Row 6: Richeson, Huey
Row 7: Parton, Geehring
Row 8: Arnold, Parker
Row 9: Henderson, Sanderson
Row 10: Baker, Marshall
Row 11: Fowler, Prince
Row 12: Milliken

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728