Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2022 16:53:45

Sponsor 743
May 28
Maquoketa Speedway,
Maquoketa, IA
Sanction: Hoker Trucking Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 29, 7:37 am)
Larson tops Kay for Maquoketa victory
  1. Jeff Larson
  2. Justin Kay
  3. Andy Eckrich
  4. Charlie McKenna
  5. Nick Marolf
  6. Spencer Diercks
  7. Matt Ryan
  8. Luke Goedert
  9. Dave Eckrich
  10. Todd Cooney
  11. Jeff Aikey
  12. Bryan Moreland
  13. Logan Duffy
  14. Gary Webb
  15. Curtis Glover
  16. Kyle Krampe
  17. Darrel DeFrance
  18. Curt Schroeder
  19. Jeff Tharp
  20. Jake Neal
  21. Jason Hahne
  22. Luke Pestka
  23. Andrew Kosiski
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Jeff Larson celebrates his $3,000 victory at Maquoketa.
What won the race: Third-starting Jeff Larson of Freeport, Ill., captured his first Hoker Trucking Series victory Saturday at Maquoketa Speedway, winning $3,000 for car owner Doug Curless. He took the lead on the 11th lap from Jake Neal, who soon slowed with a flat left-rear tire.
Key notes: Larson finished 0.498 seconds ahead of 11th-starting Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa. ... Larson is a longtime modified ace who has recently fielded the Doug Curless No. 99. ... Larson had three top-five runs last season at Lee County Speedway. ... Before that, he hadn't seen significant Late Model action since the 2011 season (his previous division victory, according to DirtonDirt.com record, was July 2, 2011, at his now-closed hometown Freeport Speedway). ... Maquoketa fast qualifier Nick Marolf of Moscow, Iowa, finished fifth. ... Seventeen drivers completed 25 laps.
On the move: Todd Cooney of Des Moines, Iowa, started 24th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Larson's Doug Curless-owned Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by C&W Trucking, Bader Construction, Tye Twarog Motorsports, Bilstein Shocks and Malvern Bank.
Points chase: It’s the tour’s season-opening weekend.
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Nick Marolf
Time: 14.556 seconds
Polesitter: Jake Neal
Heat race winners: Andy Eckrich, Jason Hahne, Justin Kay
Provisional starters: Curt Schroeder, Todd Cooney
Next series race: May 29, East Moline Speedway (East Moline, IL) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects lap of lead change and first name of winning team owner Doug Curless.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Neal, McKenna
Row 2: Larson, Diercks
Row 3: Goedert, Marolf
Row 4: A. Eckrich, D. Eckrich
Row 5: Tharp, Hahne
Row 6: Kay, Ryan
Row 7: Pestka, Moreland
Row 8: Brauns, Kosiski
Row 9: Aikey, Duffy
Row 10: Webb, Glover
Row 11: Krampe, DeFrance
Row 12: Schroeder, Cooney
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728