Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/06/2023 11:01:22

Sponsor 743
May 27
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Hoker Trucking Series - $5,000
Information provided by: XR, Mike Ruefer and series reports (last updated May 28, 12:45 am)
Kay edges Marolf for $5,000 at Davenport
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Nick Marolf
  3. Jason Hahne
  4. Luke Goedert
  5. Andy Eckrich
  6. Spencer Diercks
  7. Jeff Larson
  8. Charlie McKenna
  9. Matt Ryan
  10. Jeff Tharp
  11. Jeff Aikey
  12. Andrew Kosiski
  13. Jonathan Brauns
  14. Dave Eckrich
  15. Curt Schroeder
  16. Todd Cooney
  17. Kyle Krampe
  18. Chad Holladay
  19. Tim Simpson
  20. Logan Duffy
  21. Darrel DeFrance
  22. Joe Beal
  23. Gary Webb
  24. Jake Neal
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Justin Kay emerges in victory lane at Davenport Speedway.
What won the race: Seventh-starting Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, went around Nick Marolf on a late restart and won Friday's 40-lap Hoker Trucking Series feature by seven-tenths of a second at Davenport Speedway. Kay, who led the final four laps of the 30-lapper, pocketed $5,000 for his fourth career series victory in a late, side-by-side duel at the track promoted by his father.
Quotable: “That's the most probably some of the (biggest) cheers I've ever got from from a crowd. It's awesome to be at this place. Dad puts a lot of work into this place trying to make it racy every night," Kay said. "I think tonight it was awesome again. … especially with all the rain they got this week. It was pretty awesome."
Key notes: Runner-up Nick Marolf, bidding for his first series victory, led laps 11-26 and had a comfortable margin before the race's lone caution on lap 25. Kay went around him on lap 27 but Marolf stuck with his low groove and pulled alongside Kay on the straightaways the final four laps despite just falling shy of victory ... Polesitter Luke Goedert led the first 10 laps and finished fourth. ... Third-running Chad Holladay spun off the backstretch on the 25th lap after contact with Tim Simpson's slower car (Holladay retaliated against Simpson during the ensuing caution). ... Spectators wearing Hoker Trucking apparel received $2 off admission. ... The Hoker Trucking Series got its season rolling after six rainouts.
Winner's sponsors: Kay’s MasterSbilt is sponsored by Mycogen Seeds, Dow, Hoker Trucking, Wyffels Corn Hybrids, Malvern Bank, Pit Crew BBQ, Wehrs Machine, Petersen Insurance, Wheatland Ag Center, Kay Farms & Elevator, Wheatland Auto Body, JR’s Place, Heinee Jo’s, Doug Nigh’s RPMs, Kay Automotive and Ricky R. Kay & Son’s Trucking.
Points chase: It’s the tour’s season opener.
Current weather: Clear, 61°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Jake Neal
Time: 14.728 seconds
Polesitter: Luke Goedert
Heat race winners: Jeff Aikey, Charlie McKenna, Luke Goedert, Nick Marolf
Consolation race winners: Jeff Tharp, Jonathan Brauns
Provisional starters: Darrel DeFrance, Todd Cooney
Next series race: May 28, Maquoketa Speedway (Maquoketa, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Goedert, Marolf
Row 2: Holladay, Diercks
Row 3: A. Eckrich, Hahne
Row 4: Kay, Beal
Row 5: McKenna, Larson
Row 6: D. Eckrich, Aikey
Row 7: Neal, Duffy
Row 8: Schroeder, Krampe
Row 9: Tharp, Brauns
Row 10: A. Kosiski, Ryan
Row 11: Webb, T. Simpson
Row 12: DeFrance, Cooney

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information