Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/22/2020 17:17:18

Sponsor 743
September 27
Modoc Raceway,
Modoc, SC
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Gene Murphy and series reports (last updated September 29, 12:20 pm)
Franklin notches second Ultimate win at Modoc
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Brent Dixon
  3. Jeff Smith
  4. Jordy Nipper
  5. Doug Sanders
  6. Brian Ledbetter
  7. Anthony Sanders
  8. Frank Coates
  9. Kevin Godwin
  10. Mike McConnell
  11. Casey Roberts
  12. Bubba Russell
  13. Casey Barrow
  14. Donnie Shealy
  15. Jonathan Edwards
  16. Robbie Bailey
presented by
Gene Murphy
Dennis Franklin steers toward victory at Modoc.
What won the race: Despite running without brakes, Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., led all 40 laps to outrun Brent Dixon of Elberton, Ga., for a $4,000 Ultimate Super Late Model Series victory at Modoc Raceway, his second series triumph of the 2014 season.
Quotable: “We lost the brakes there about lap 14, I didn't know what happened. I switched it to three-wheel (braking) to try and get the front brakes to work but they wouldn't slow me down. Now that we have gotten the car in the pits we have discovered that evidently a mud clod cut the left rear caliper in two," Franklin said. “We just got lucky. The car was just so good that I could get the car up in the loose stuff and get it sideways to keep the momentum. Every so often I would screw up a little bit in lapped traffic, but we made it through it.”
Key notes: Franklin's previous Ultimate victory came at Modoc on April 26. ... Chris Ferguson's night ended in hot laps with a broken oil line. ... The Ultimate Series made its second and final visit of the season to Modoc. ... The Sept. 27 race was a makeup of a rainout two weeks earlier.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: Entering the event, Franklin, had 322 points to lead Jeff Smith (295) and Doug Sanders (264).
Car count: 16
Fast qualifier: Dennis Franklin
Time: 15.510 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Franklin
Next series race: October 10, Clary's Speedway (Brinkleyville, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728