Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/05/2022 12:43:48

Sponsor 743
May 20
300 Raceway,
Farley, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Truck Country 50) - $12,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 21, 12:21 pm)
Erb repels B-Shepp for $12,000 Farley victory
Truck Country 50
  1. Tyler Erb
  2. Brandon Sheppard
  3. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  4. Hudson O'Neal
  5. Jimmy Owens
  6. Garrett Alberson
  7. Spencer Hughes
  8. Billy Moyer Jr.
  9. Earl Pearson Jr.
  10. Ross Robinson
  11. Tim McCreadie
  12. Chad Simpson
  13. Daulton Wilson
  14. Ashton Winger
  15. Tyler Bruening
  16. Jake Timm
  17. Joel Callahan
  18. Bobby Pierce
  19. Charlie McKenna
  20. Tim Simpson
  21. Chris Simpson
  22. Spencer Diercks
  23. David Webster
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Tyler Erb turned back a late challenge from Brandon Sheppard.
What won the race: Leading all the way Friday at 300 Raceway's Truck Country 50, pole-starting Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, captured his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series of the season as the tour ended a long, weather-caused hiatus. Erb, who won despite crunching a portion of his rear spoiler, fought off series points leader Brandon Sheppard in the final laps for a $12,000 victory.
Quotable: “I ran second (at Farley) last year. The other year we came I think I ran second too (in 2019),” Erb said. “I really like this place. You don’t really know what you’re gonna get. Tonight I don’t feel like it really rubbered so it was a really good race, changed around a lot. But it was nerve-racking because I could tell in three and four I started slowing way down.”
Key notes: Tyler Erb has 18 career Lucas Oil Series victories. ... In his previous three series visits to Farley Erb had two runner-up finishes and a fifth-place finish. ... Erb also won eight nights earlier in MARS Racing Series action at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway. ... Brandon Sheppard finished second for the third time in a row; he was competing as an official Lucas Oil driver in the Rocket Chassis house car for the first time. ... Three cautions slowed the action, including a lap-48 yellow for debris. ... Chad Simpson's flat left-rear tire drew a lap-42 yellow. ... Bobby Pierce was running fifth when he pulled pitside with an overheating car on during the lap-32 caution; he apparently had a hole in his radiator. ... The first caution appeared on the 32nd lap when sixth-running Tyler Bruening slowed with a flat right-rear tire. (Bruening was in action in his home state after recently dropping off the World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series, where he had been as high as fourth in points.). ... With a rain-plagued stretch, the national tour returned to action for the first time since April 10.
On the move: Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., started 18th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Erb’s winning Best Performance Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by an Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Terbo Threads, First Class Septic, Roberts Bee Company, Bazell Race Fuels, M&W Transport, Central Coast Tire, Bulk Material Lift, Gaier’s Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep-Ram, Sunoco Race Fuels, Keyser Mfg., Hoosier Racing Tire, Integra Racing Shocks, R&R Design, Day Motorsports and KBC Graphix.
Points chase: After Farley: 1. Brandon Sheppard (2,100); 2. Tyler Erb (2,025); 3. Tim McCreadie (1,925); 4. Devin Moran (1,855); 5. Jimmy Owens (1,845); 6. Ricky Thornton Jr. (1,785); 7. Ashton Winger (1,750); 8. Earl Pearson Jr. (1,735); 9. Hudson O’Neal (1,730); 10. Garrett Alberson (1,580); 11. Shane Clanton (1,510); 12. Ross Robinson (1,465); 13. Spencer Hughes (1,455); 14. Daulton Wilson (1,450).
Current weather: Overcast, 61°F
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Billy Moyer Jr.
Time: 15.136 seconds
Polesitter: Tyler Erb
Heat race winners: Tyler Erb, Hudson O'Neal, Ricky Thornton Jr.
Next series race: May 22, 34 Raceway (West Burlington, IA) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Erb, O'Neal
Row 2: Thornton, Moyer Jr.
Row 3: Cha. Simpson, Sheppard
Row 4: Timm, Pierce
Row 5: McCreadie, Hughes
Row 6: Robinson, Bruening
Row 7: Chr. Simpson, Wilson
Row 8: Alberson, Winger
Row 9: Pearson Jr., Owens
Row 10: Diercks, Callahan
Row 11: T. Simpson, McKenna
Row 12: Webster
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728