Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1268
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 13:53:40

Sponsor 743
May 20
Hilltop Speedway,
Millersburg, OH
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Jeff Norris Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Dustin Jarrett (last updated May 22, 9:06 pm)
Moran repeats in Hilltop's Norris Memorial
Jeff Norris Memorial
  1. Devin Moran
  2. Josh Rice
  3. Freddie Carpenter
  4. Zack Dohm
  5. Greg Oakes
  6. Corey Conley
  7. Jacob Hawkins
  8. Ryan Missler
  9. Zach Hill
  10. Corey DeLancey
  11. Ryan Markham
  12. George Lee
  13. Dustin Smith
  14. Doug Dodd
  15. Thomas Baker
  16. Vic Hottinger
  17. Dave Hess Jr.
  18. J.R. Gentry
presented by
Eric Nickelson
Devin Moran shows off his $10,000 paycheck at Hilltop Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, raced to his second straight Jeff Norris Memorial victory Friday at Hilltop Speedway. Moran, who passed up Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series action in Iowa to race in his home state, led all 40 laps and collected a $10,000 prize in taking the checkers ahead of Josh Rice and Freddie Carpenter.
Quotable: “We weren't really planning on running Lucas deal from the start, we just had such a phenomenal Speedweeks, and Lucas (has had only three races) since Florida. So we're up there in points and it was just one of the deals like, we talked about (sticking with the series), but we didn't really want to, but it was hard to pull off," Moran said. "We've just been struggling a little bit, you know? I've been kinda hinting (about) coming home and yesterday (car owner) Tye (Twarog) pulled the trigger. So we decided to come home and put this car together. And obviously we came here and had a successful night.”
Key notes: Moran was piloting a Longhorn Chassis that fellow racer Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, had run a few times in recent weeks (Erb was in his usual Rocket Chassis on Friday in winning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event in Farley, Iowa). ... Runner-up Josh Rice, who made his debut at Hilltop, was charging hard late in the race but fell shy of overtaking Moran. ... J.R. Gentry was running second and making up ground on Moran when he made contact with a lapped car and cut a tire with 10 laps remaining; the slowing Gentry collected Dave Hess Jr. in the aftermath. ... A pair of lap-30 cautions slowed the action.
On the move: Eighth-starting Josh Rice of Verona, Ky., finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Moran’s Tye Twarog Racing Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Tye Twarog Performance Parts, C&W Trucking, Big D's, Tommy Pope Construction, Accu-Force, M&M Painting & Construction, Car Source Auto, McHugh Chrysler Dodge Jeep, Red Oak Pub, VP Racing Fuels, Lucas Oil, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, The Joie of Seating, igimage.com, Eddie's Sunoco and Muskingum County Speedway.
Points chase: Vic Hottinger of Coshocton, Ohio, is the reigning track champion.
Current weather: Clear, 77°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Zack Dohm
Time: 14.291 seconds
Dash winner: Devin Moran
Heat race winners: Greg Oakes, Josh Rice, Doug Dodd
Consolation race winners: Ryan Missler
Editor's note: Corrects finish throughout.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moran, Hawkins
Row 2: Conley, F. Carpenter
Row 3: Dohm, Gentry
Row 4: Oakes, Rice
Row 5: Dodd, Markham
Row 6: Hill, Hess
Row 7: Smith, Baker
Row 8: DeLancey, Missler
Row 9: Hottinger, Lee
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information