Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/27/2023 21:53:50

Sponsor 743
April 23
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (MLRA Spring Nationals) - $7,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 24, 12:08 pm)
Looney pockets $7,000 MLRA Spring Nationals
MLRA Spring Nationals
  1. Payton Looney
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Chris Simpson
  4. Logan Martin
  5. Garrett Alberson
  6. Daniel Hilsabeck
  7. Kolby Vandenbergh
  8. Jason Papich
  9. Jacob Magee
  10. Mason Oberkramer
  11. Johnny Scott
  12. Tad Pospisil
  13. Aaron Marrant
  14. Stormy Scott
  15. Trevor Gundaker
  16. Todd Cooney
  17. Blair Nothdurft
  18. Dalton Imhoff
  19. Joe Godsey
  20. Dustin Walker
  21. Steve Stultz
  22. Billy Moyer Jr.
  23. Shannon Babb
  24. Tony Jackson Jr.
  25. Kaeden Cornell
  26. Kylan Garner
presented by
Mike Musslin
Payton Looney earned $7,000 at the MLRA Spring Nationals.
What won the race: Leading all 40 laps of Saturday's ninth annual Spring Nationals feature, second-starting Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., earned his sixth career victory with the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association at Lucas Oil Speedway. He beat Chad Simpson to the finish line by 1.310 seconds to pocket the $7,000 top prize.
Quotable: "This place is awesome. I love the racetrack and I love the people," Looney said. "I have so many fans here. Thank you guys for sticking out this little rain we had. It was an awesome race and I'm thankful for that, but racing is just for fun now. We don't chase any points. We get to race when we want to and there's no pressure, and get to do it with my wife and my kids. It makes it a lot more special, that's for sure.”
Key notes: Chad Simpson grabbed the runner-up position on a lap-10 restart and kept the spot to the finish. ... Chris Simpson, Chad's younger brother, completed the podium in third. ... Logan Martin started 13th and advanced nine positions to finish fourth. ... Polesitter Jason Papich of Arroyo Grande, Calif., faded to finish eighth. ... After winning Friday's $5,000 opener, Johnny Scott of Las Cruces, N.M., finished 11th. ... MLRA's 91st event at its home track was slowed by four separate incidents and lasted 23 minutes, with 20 competitors completing all 40 laps. … After a rain shower delayed action between qualifying groups, the remainder of the racing schedule was adjusted to ensure the MLRA feature was completed in a timely manner.
On the move: Mason Oberkramer of Broseley, Mo., started 23rd and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Looney’s Atnip Motorsports Capital Race Car is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Specialty Risk Insurance, Duvall Electric, Penske Racing Shocks and Swift Springs.
Points chase: After Wheatland: 1. Johnny Scott (890); 2. Chris Simpson (835); 3. Chad Simpson (805); 4. Tad Pospisil (745); 5. Kolby Vandenbergh (740).
Current weather: Overcast Light Rain, 72°F
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Kolby Vandenbergh
Time: 15.052 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Papich
Heat race winners: Jason Papich, Chris Simpson, Payton Looney, Chad Simpson
Provisional starters: Mason Oberkramer, Dustin Walker, Todd Cooney, Steve Stultz
Next series race: May 6, Lake Ozark Speedway (Eldon, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Papich, Looney
Row 2: Chr. Simpson, Cha. Simpson
Row 3: Garner, Vandenbergh
Row 4: Hilsabeck, Alberson
Row 5: Cornell, J. Scott
Row 6: Pospisil, Babb
Row 7: Martin, Moyer Jr.
Row 8: S. Scott, Magee
Row 9: Jackson Jr., Nothdurft
Row 10: T. Gundaker, Marrant
Row 11: Godsey, Imhoff
Row 12: Oberkramer, Walker
Row 13: Cooney, Stultz
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information