Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2022 16:19:37

Sponsor 743
April 23
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 24, 12:10 pm)
Rainey rebounds for $3,000 CRUSA victory
  1. Jake Rainey
  2. Logan Palmer
  3. Tanner Collins
  4. Jimmy Thomas
  5. Matt Henderson
  6. Jason Welshan
  7. Jake Knowles
  8. Greg Martin
  9. T.J. Brittain
  10. Chase Elliott
  11. Luke Bennett
  12. Randall Beckwith
  13. Bryson Mitchell
  14. Josh Adkins
  15. Adam Gauldin
  16. Braden Mitchell
  17. Matthew Brocato
  18. Braxtin Barber
  19. Kyle McMahon
  20. Cruz Skinner
  21. Jeff Helms
  22. Zack Shelton
  23. Mike Combs
  24. Jeremy Pate
  25. Jason Markewitz
  26. Sterling Freeman
  27. Maddux Mullinax
presented by
(Zackary Washington/Simple Moments Photography)
Jake Rainey in victory lane at Talladega Short Track on April 23, 2022.
What won the race: Rebounding from a crash the previous night, Jake Rainey of Powder Springs, Ga., earned $3,000 Saturday at Talladega Short Track on the Crate Racin’ USA Series. Rainey took the checkers ahead of Logan Palmer for the victory.
Key notes: Rainey was chasing a top-five in Friday's action when he was part of a wreck that left him with a 15th-place finish and banged-up car. ... The team rebuilt the body Saturday morning before racing to victory Saturday evening. ... Former NASCAR Cup Series champion Chase Elliott finished 10th. ... Jimmy Thomas of Phenix City, Ala., won Friday's opener; he finished fourth in Saturday’s main event.
On the move: Jake Knowles of Rome, Ga., started 12th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Rainey’s Sparks Racing No. 87 is sponsored by Rainey Bros. Ceiling and Insulation, Clark Enterprises, Allstar Concrete, C&S, HighTech, Topnotch Kustom Koncepts, Base Racing Fuel and Stealth Carburetors.
Points chase: After Talladega: 1. Jimmy Thomas (284); 2. Jake Rainey (266): 3. Jason Welshan (262); 4. Jake Knowles (254): 5. Randall Beckwith (252).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 64°F
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Jake Rainey
Time: 14.681 seconds
Polesitter: Tanner Collins
Consolation race winners: Greg Martin, Jake Knowles, Randall Beckwith
Provisional starters: Mike Combs, Kyle McMahon, Jeremy Pate, Jason Markewitz, Maddux  Mullinax
Next series race: May 14, Needmore Speedway (Norman Park, GA) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Collins, Rainey
Row 2: Henderson, Palmer
Row 3: Thomas, Elliott
Row 4: Brittain, Welshan
Row 5: Gauldin, Bry. Mitchell
Row 6: Martin, Ja. Knowles
Row 7: Beckwith, Barber
Row 8: Skinner, Bennett
Row 9: Helms, Shelton
Row 10: Bra. Mitchell, Freeman
Row 11: Brocato, Adkins
Row 12: Combs, McMahon
Row 13. Pate, Markewitz
Row 14: Mullinax

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728