Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/28/2024 01:01:43

Sponsor 743
April 9
81 Speedway,
Park City, KS
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Heartland Hustle) - $7,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 11, 11:26 am)
Scott hustles to $7,000 MLRA win at 81
Heartland Hustle
  1. Johnny Scott
  2. Gordy Gundaker
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Tad Pospisil
  5. Chris Simpson
  6. Dustin Walker
  7. Daniel Hilsabeck
  8. Kaeden Cornell
  9. Blair Nothdurft
  10. Kolby Vandenbergh
  11. Justin Duty
  12. Trevor Gundaker
  13. Brennon Willard
  14. Bobby Pierce
  15. Terry Phillips
  16. Ryan Gustin
  17. Stormy Scott
  18. Mason Oberkramer
  19. Tony Jackson Jr.
  20. Chase Junghans
  21. Jake Timm
  22. Aaron Marrant
  23. Jeff Herzog
  24. Rodney Sanders
  25. Delbert Smith
  26. Todd Cooney
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Johnny Scott emerges from his car after winning Saturday at 81 Speedway.
What won the race: Leading all 35 laps from the outside front row, Johnny Scott of Las Cruces, N.M., earned his third career triumph with the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association after winning Saturday's Heartland Hustle feature at 81 Speedway, collecting $7,000.
Quotable: “Our car was really good, I knew my signal guy told me when I got to lap traffic that they were closing in on me, but heck, I just couldn’t get around those guys once I got up to them so I just tried to stay there,” said Scott. “I appreciate Ryan (Gustin). He ran me really clean and could have probably moved me a couple of times.”
Key notes: Polesitter Ryan Gustin maintained pace and battled with Scott for the lead on lap 20 while Terry Phillips ran third, less than one second behind. ... Gustin managed to forge ahead on the backstretch on lap 23 but suffered a flat tire in turns three and four, bringing out a caution before officially leading a lap. Gustin pitted and didn't return. ... Seven other drivers were involved in a lap 23 incident, including the winner's twin brother Stormy Scott, Mason Oberkramer, Tony Jackson Jr. and Chase Junghans who finished 17th-20th. ... Sixth-starting Gordy Gundaker inherited the runner-up position from Gustin on lap 24 and finished 2.080 seconds behind Johnny Scott. ... Chad Simpson completed the podium in third place. … Taking advantage of the attrition, Kaeden Cornell advanced from 25th to finish eighth. ... Winner of Friday's $5,000 season opener, Bobby Pierce advanced from seventh to fourth before suffering a flat tire and completing only 31 laps, finishing 14th. ... The feature was slowed by the lengthy lap-23 incident and lasted 26 minutes, with 12 competitors completing all 35 laps.
On the move: Dustin Walker of Peculiar, Mo., started 26th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Scott’s Rancho Milagro Racing Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Mesilla Valley Transportation, Top of the World Ranch, Bilstein, VP Racing Fuels, Eagle Moon Hemp and KBC Graphix.
Points chase: After 81 Saturday: 1. Johnny Scott (405); 2. Tad Pospisil (370); 3. Bobby Pierce (360); T4. Chad Simpson (355); T4. Chris Simpson (355).
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Tad Pospisil
Time: 16.104 seconds
Polesitter: Ryan Gustin
Heat race winners: Ryan Gustin, Terry Phillips, Johnny Scott, Chad Simpson
Consolation race winners: Kolby Vandenbergh, Rodney Sanders
Provisional starters: Justin Duty, Jake Timm, Kaeden Cornell, Dustin Walker
Next series race: April 14, Davenport Speedway (Davenport, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Gustin, J. Scott
Row 2: Phillips, Cha. Simpson
Row 3: Pospisil, G. Gundaker
Row 4: Pierce, Oberkramer
Row 5: S. Scott, Nothdurft
Row 6: Hilsabeck, Willard
Row 7: Chr. Simpson, Jackson Jr.
Row 8: Marrant, Smith
Row 9: Vandenbergh, Sanders
Row 10: Junghans, T. Gundaker
Row 11: Herzog, Cooney
Row 12: Duty, Timm
Row 13: Cornell, Walker
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information