Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/31/2023 16:37:55

Sponsor 743
April 8
81 Speedway,
Park City, KS
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Heartland Hustle) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 9, 1:44 pm)
Pierce grabs MLRA opener in 81 debut
Heartland Hustle
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Ryan Gustin
  3. Chase Junghans
  4. Rodney Sanders
  5. Johnny Scott
  6. Chris Simpson
  7. Stormy Scott
  8. Tad Pospisil
  9. Chad Simpson
  10. Jake Timm
  11. Darrell Lanigan
  12. Mason Oberkramer
  13. Jacob Magee
  14. Kolby Vandenbergh
  15. Trevor Gundaker
  16. Justin Duty
  17. Gordy Gundaker
  18. Daniel Hilsabeck
  19. Jeff Herzog
  20. Blair Nothdurft
  21. Todd Cooney
  22. Brennon Willard
  23. Terry Phillips
  24. Tony Jackson Jr.
  25. Dan Smith
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Bobby Pierce heads to victory Friday at 81 Speedway.
What won the race: Third-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., raced to the $5,000 victory in Friday’s Heartland Hustle at 81 Speedway. He claimed his 10th career Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory in the tour’s opener.
Quotable: "All in all a great racetrack tonight," Pierce said. "I felt like it was very racy. I felt like I could have come from the back and as a racer, that's all you can ask for. For my first time being here, I really like it."
Key notes: Pierce nosed ahead of front-row starters Tad Pospisil and Rodney Sanders early and was never really contested after a pair of mid-race cautions. … He finished 5.087 seconds ahead of fourth-starting Ryan Gustin. … Defending MLRA champion Tony Jackson Jr., of Lebanon, Mo., retired on lap 12. … Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., who was piloting a car fielded by Jackson, finished 11th. … The Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association kicks off its season with a doubleheader at 81 Speedway this weekend. … The event wraps up on Saturday with a $7,000-to-win finale. … Pit gates open at 3 p.m. each day; grandstands open at 5 p.m. each day. … Modifieds, stock cars and mod lites are on Saturday’s card.
On the move: Chase Junghans of Manhattan, Kan., started 13th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Pierce Race Car is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Allgayer Inc., Premier Waste Services, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Go Lithium, Base Racing Fuel, Carnaghi Towing, Viper Risk Management, Extreme Electric, First Spear, Quality Paint & Body, Leka Tree Service, Advanced Suspension and Allstar Performance.
Points chase: Before 81 Saturday: 1. Bobby Pierce (225); 2. Ryan Gustin (205); 3. Chase Junghans (195); 4. Rodney Sanders (185); 5. Johnny Scott (180).
Current weather: Clear, 45°F
Car count: 39
Fast qualifier: Tad Pospisil
Time: 16.402 seconds
Heat race winners: Tad Pospisil, Bobby Pierce, Rodney Sanders, Ryan Gustin
Consolation race winners: Trevor Gundaker, Darrell Lanigan
Next series race: April 9, 81 Speedway (Park City, KS) $7,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pospisil, Sanders
Row 2: Pierce, Gustin
Row 3: Cooney, Vandenbergh
Row 4: Cha. Simpson, Jackson
Row 5: J. Scott, S. Scott
Row 6: Chr. Simpson, Herzog
Row 7: Junghans, Timm
Row 8: Phillips, Nothdurft
Row 9: Gundaker, Magee
Row 10: Hilsabeck, Smith
Row 11: Oberkramer, Duty
Row 12: Willard
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information