Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/15/2022 14:50:19

Sponsor 743
March 20
Atomic Speedway,
Alma, OH
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Buckeye Spring 50) - $12,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated March 21, 8:52 am)
Owens repels Moran, wins Buckeye Spring 50
Buckeye Spring 50
  1. Jimmy Owens
  2. Devin Moran
  3. Tyler Erb
  4. Hudson O'Neal
  5. Brandon Sheppard
  6. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  7. Garrett Alberson
  8. Earl Pearson Jr.
  9. Josh Rice
  10. Dennis Erb Jr.
  11. Tim McCreadie
  12. Ashton Winger
  13. Shane Clanton
  14. Spencer Hughes
  15. Tyler Carpenter
  16. Daulton Wilson
  17. R.J. Conley
  18. Freddie Carpenter
  19. Rod Conley
  20. Bobby Pierce
  21. Ross Robinson
  22. Kirk Phillips
  23. Todd Brennan
  24. Steve Casebolt
presented by
Tyler Carr
Jimmy Owens heads for a $12,000 Lucas Oil victory at Atomic Speedway.
What won the race: Taking the lead from polesitter Devin Moran on the second lap, Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., led the final 49 circuits to win Sunday’s Buckeye Spring 50 at Atomic Speedway. Owens finished 0.785 of a second ahead of Moran for his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season and a $12,000 payday.
Key notes: Jimmy Owens won at Atomic for the second time in the last three Lucas Oil Series visits. … Owens joins Scott Bloomquist, Jonathan Davenport and Eddie Carrier Jr. as the only repeat series winners at Atomic. They each have two victories at the Ohio oval. … Owens’ previous win this season was on Feb. 5 at All-Tech Raceway in Ellisville, Fla. … Devin Moran, who has three series wins this season, recorded his fifth runner-up finish while regaining the series points lead. … Hudson O’Neal, winner of last year’s Buckeye Spring 50, finished fourth. … Electrical issues kept Steve Casebolt from starting the feature. He was slated to start 13th. … The race was slowed by one caution: Ross Robinson slowed to a stop on lap 31 with apparent engine trouble. … Bobby Pierce retired with carburetor issues while running inside the top 10. ... Sunday’s race was originally scheduled for Friday before rain pushed the event back two days. … … Charlie Vest assumed ownership at Atomic in August.
On the move: Ashton Winger of Hampton, Ga., started 17th and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Owens drives a Ramirez Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Reece Monument, Boomtest Well Service, Tim Short Auto Group, Red Line Oil, Georgia Arms, Midwest Sheet Metal and Ohlins Shocks.
Points chase: After Atomic: 1. Devin Moran (1,480); 2. Brandon Sheppard (1,465); 3. Tyler Erb (1,310); 4. Tim McCreadie (1,300); 5. Hudson O’Neal (1,260); 6. Ricky Thornton Jr. (1,255); 7. Jimmy Owens (1,230); 8. Ashton Winger (1,225); 9. Earl Pearson Jr. (1,220); 10. Dennis Erb Jr. (1,185).
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Devin Moran
Time: 13.109 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Moran
Heat race winners: Devin Moran, Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Owens, Ricky Thornton Jr.
Consolation race winners: Ashton Winger
Provisional starters: Freddie Carpenter, Todd Brennan
Next series race: April 8, Tyler County Speedway (Middlebourne, WV) $30,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moran, Owens
Row 2: Sheppard, Thornton
Row 3: T. Erb, Alberson
Row 4: O’Neal, Pierce
Row 5: Pearson, McCreadie
Row 6: Hughes, Rice
Row 7: Casebolt, D. Erb Jr.
Row 8: Robinson, Clanton
Row 9: Winger, T. Carpenter
Row 10: Wilson, R.J. Conley
Row 11: Ro. Conley, Phillips
Row 12: F. Carpenter, Brennan

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728