Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/25/2020 20:21:29

Sponsor 743
September 27
Dog Hollow Speedway,
Strongstown, PA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Thunder Dog 50) - $6,500
Information provided by: Dave Kittey (last updated September 28, 5:39 pm)
Knaub's Dog Hollow debut gives him richest win
Thunder Dog 50
  1. Gene Knaub
  2. Brian Tavenner
  3. Mike Altobelli Jr.
  4. Dylan Yoder
  5. John Garvin Jr.
  6. Alex Ferree
  7. Mike Blose
  8. Dan Angelicchio
  9. Quintin Wyandt
  10. Tim Smith Jr.
  11. Dan Lee
  12. Dwayne Taneyhill
  13. George Lee
  14. Bo Lockwood
  15. Denny Fenton
  16. John Myers
  17. Tim Krape
  18. Joe Zulisky
  19. Ryan Christoff
  20. Mark Booth
  21. Justin Kann
  22. Duane Stiner
  23. Shane McLoughlin
  24. Rodney Phillips
  25. Brandon Delano
  26. Shawn Claar
  27. Cody Robbins
presented by
Derek Bobik
Feature winner Gene Knaub battles in prelims Friday at Dog Hollow.
What won the race: Making his first visit to Dog Hollow, Gene Knaub of Dover, Pa., overtook Brian Tavenner with 12 laps remaining to earn $6,500 for the richest Late Model victory of his career. Tavenner settled for second.
Quotable: “I can't thank these guys enough for believing in me,” Knaub said. “I've never been here before and this is the biggest win of my career.”
Key notes: Besides his 20th-to-third run in the Super Late Model feature, Mike Altobelli Jr. finished second in the steel-block engine Late Model main. ... Knaub also won $500 in Friday's Dash for Cash, taking the lead from Mike Blose with two laps remaining in the 10-lap prelim. ... Saturday's main event purse was raised to $6,500 thanks to an extra $500 posted by G&R Excavating & Demolition. ... The track's Super Late Models are sponsored by Townsend Gas & Oil. ... Rick Singleton won the $2,000 steel block feature and Joe Martin won the $1,200 Crate feature. ... Drivers failing to start the Super Late Model feature: Jim Struble, Chris Rhodes, Jason Schmidt, Ken Schaltenbrand, Tom Decker III and Tim Fannin.
On the move: Mike Altobelli Jr. of Saxton, Pa., came from the 20th starting spot to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Knaub's Brian Klinedinst-owned No. 43a Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Red Wing Shoes and Superior Homes.
Points chase: Dwayne Taneyhill of Bellwood, Pa., won the track title with 1,325 points, topping Mike Blose (1,247).
Car count: 32
Heat race winners: Mike Blose, Justin Kann, Gene Knaub, John Garvin Jr.
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728