Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/28/2024 17:53:04

Sponsor 743
February 3
East Bay Raceway Park,
Gibsonton, FL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA Winter Shootout (East Bay Winternationals) - $2,500
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated February 18, 9:58 am)
Hardy rallies to $2,500 East Bay Crate victory
East Bay Winternationals
  1. Kyle Hardy
  2. Tanner Cobb
  3. Trey Bayne
  4. Nevin Gainey
  5. Rodney Wing
  6. Wil Herrington
  7. Chuck Kimble
  8. Cory Hedgecock
  9. Garrett Mosley
  10. Trevor Collins
  11. Jason Welshan
  12. Travis Varnadore
  13. Keith Nosbisch
  14. Dillon Brown
  15. Kenny Monahan
  16. Brian Smith
  17. T.J. Brittain
  18. Daniel Woody
  19. Jamie Burford
  20. Jody Knowles
  21. JC Wilson
  22. Jimmy Waldrop
  23. Mack McCarter
  24. Tyler Neal
  25. Matt Cooper
  26. Steven Stratton Sr.
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Kyle Hardy overtook Tanner Cobb on the final lap for an East Bay victory.
What won the race: With Tanner Cobb hung up behind a slower car on the final, a high-flying Kyle Hardy of Stephens City, Va., swept into the lead exiting turn two on the final lap Thursday at East Bay Raceway Park to grab a $2,500 Crate Racin' USA Winter Shootout victory. Cobb, who led laps 11-29 after polesitter Jimmy Waldrop retired with mechanical woes, settled for second.
Quotable: "I just kept my foot in the gas and tried to keep my nose clean," Hardy said in victory lane. "You don't know where half these guys are going."
Key notes: Hardy captured 2021's Winter Shootout finale at East Bay. ... Jimmy Waldrop slowed leading on the 11th lap. ... David Showers Jr. and Rodgerick Dykes scratched from the 30-lapper. ... The Crate Racin’ USA Winter Shootout opened a three-race stretch at the Clay by the Bay. … The opening two events pay $2,500-to-win with Saturday’s finale paying $5,000-to-win. ... Richie Stephens of Phenix City, Ala., won Thursday's 602 Crate Late Model feature.
On the move: Winner Kyle Hardy started 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Hardy's Chuck Bowie Racing entry is sponsored by Advanced Elevator, WMD Race Cars, INgram Engines, Allen's Automotive, ML Performance, Evans Waterless Engine Coolants, Superior Rail & Home Improvement and All About Wraps.
Points chase: After East Bay Thursday: 1. Cory Hedgecock (278); 2. Jody Knowles (234); 3. Jason Welshan (218); 4. Jamie Burford (186); 5. Nevin Gainey (184).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 75
Fast qualifier: Jimmy Waldrop
Time: 16.082 seconds
Polesitter: Jimmy Waldrop
Heat race winners: Garrett Mosley, Tanner Cobb, Rodney Wing, Steven Stratton Sr., Chuck Kimble, Kenny Monahan, Nevin Gainey, Jimmy Waldrop
Consolation race winners: Mack McCarter, Wil Herrington, Travis Varnadore, Cory Hedgecock
Next series race: March 5, Clarksville Speedway (Clarksville, TN) $3,000
Editor's note: Tire samples for apparent runner-up Tanner Cobb, fourth-placed Nevin Gainey and 22nd-place Jimmy Waldrop did not meet the manufacturer's supplied benchmark when tested by an independent lab.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Waldrop, Stratton
Row 2: Ta. Cobb, Wing
Row 3: Gainey, Kimble
Row 4: Monahan, Mosley
Row 5: Woody, Smith
Row 6: Bayne, Hardy
Row 7: Neal, Cooper
Row 8: Brown, Brittain
Row 9: M. McCarter, Herrington
Row 10: Varnadore, Hedgecock
Row 11: Wilson, Showers
Row 12: Collins, Nosbisch
Row 13: Jo. Knolwes, Welshan
Row 14: Burford, Dykes

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information