Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2020 17:22:40

Sponsor 743
September 27
East Alabama Motor Speedway,
Phenix City, AL
Sanction: Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series (Alabama State Championship) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and staff reports (last updated September 28, 10:30 am)
McCarter collects $3,000 East Alabama win
Alabama State Championship
  1. Pierce McCarter
  2. Montana Dudley
  3. Tim Busha
  4. Jake Knowles
  5. Brandon Williams
  6. Jacob Grizzle
  7. Ray Cook
  8. Cecil Eunice
  9. Tyler Crowder
  10. Chase Edge
  11. Jadon Frame
  12. David Brannon
  13. Brent Barrett
  14. Frank Wilson
  15. Mark Dowdy
  16. Ryan King
  17. J.R. Moseley
  18. Josh Adkins
  19. Ronnie Johnson
  20. Chris Madden
  21. Donald Bradsher
  22. Jeff Smith
  23. Dillon Tidmore
  24. Lavon Sparks
presented by
Connie Putnam/photobyconnie.com
Pierce McCarter emerges from his winning car at EAMS.
What won the race: Joining his brother as a series winner, Pierce McCarter of Gatlinburg, Tenn., moved into the lead on the 11th lap at East Alabama and led the rest of the way to earn $3,000. Jeff Smith led four laps and Chris Madden led six, but both were among early retirees.
Quotable: “We were riding along there and Jeff Smith dropped out, then (Donald) Brasher was gone, and then (Chris) Madden pulled up,” McCarter said. “That gave me the lead and I was wondering if I needed to be there because I didn’t want to be next. We have a good race car because my brother drove it to a win two weeks ago in Tazewell, Tenn., so it’s my first win in this series and the car’s second.”
Key notes: McCarter spun on one of the race's initial starting attempts but ultimately kept his spot. ... A turn-four tangle on an early restart damaged several cars, including that of points leader Ronnie Johnson. ... Donald Bradsher ran among the leaders early but dropped out. ... The tour for CT 525-engine cars was part of a three-day 36th annual Alabama State Championships weekend with four Late Model divisions in action at EAMS, including the Southern All Star-sanctioned Super Late Models. ... The series championship, which wraps up Oct. 11 at Talladega, pays $10,000.
On the move: Runner-up and hometown driver Montana Dudley started 10th; Jacob Grizzle came from 19th to sixth.
Winner's sponsors: McCarter's CVR Race Car is sponsored by McCarter Lumber Company, McCarter Farms and Ohlins Shocks.
Points chase: Retiring after 27 laps after his car was damaged in an early tangle, Ronnie Johnson saw his points lead over Jake Knowles drop to 20 points. One series race remains.
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Jeff Smith
Time: 16.033 seconds
Polesitter: Jeff Smith
Consolation race winners: Jake Knowles
Provisional starters: Mark Dowdy, Frank Wilson
Next series race: October 11, Talladega Short Track (Eastaboga, AL) $6,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728