Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/23/2023 05:34:46

Sponsor 743
October 16
Friendship Motor Speedway,
Elkin, NC
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (North Carolina State Championship) - $10,500
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated October 20, 3:38 pm)
Strickler sweeps at Friendship, bags $10,500
North Carolina State Championship
  1. Kyle Strickler
  2. Ashton Winger
  3. Daulton Wilson
  4. Benji Hicks
  5. Dennis Franklin
  6. Tyler Bare
  7. Trent Ivey
  8. Anthony Sanders
  9. Adam Yarbrough
  10. Zack Mitchell
  11. Dan Breuer
  12. Tommy Jones
  13. Clint Hodges
  14. Jacob Houser
  15. Josh Richeson
  16. Joey Leavell
  17. Chris Meadows
  18. Jamison McBride
presented by
Austin Bumgarner
Kyle Strickler shows off his big paycheck at Friendship.
What won the race: Completing the weekend sweep, fast qualifier Kyle Strickler of Mooresville, N.C., led all 50 laps for a $10,500 victory in Saturday’s inaugural North Carolina State Championship at Friendship Motor Speedway. He finished 1.085 seconds ahead of fourth-starting Ashton Winger.
Quotable: "I'll you what, I was more nervous starting on the front row of this thing than I was starting on the front row of the World (100)," Strickler said. "It means a lot for me to get a win like this in a Late Model here in my home state in front of my whole family and my old fans. I'd love to be winning those crown jewels and going to Portsmouth (for the Dirt Track World Championship) and that stuff, but this is way more important supporting my local racetrack here in North Carolina, a place that's close to home."
Key notes: Strickler notched his first Late Model victory since February. ... Strickler set fast time but elected to start outside the front row with Chris Meadows on the pole; Meadows retired before halfway after running seventh most of his race. ... Daulton Wilson held the second spot the first 22 laps before Ashton Winger took the spot; Wilson slipped back ahead of Winger on laps 44-45 but Winger regained the spot with a high-side move on the final restart. ... Nine drivers completed 50 laps. ... Entrants Matthew Nance, Daniel Tucker and Justin Hudspeth didn't start the Super Late Model feature. ... Carson Ferguson earned $5,500 for the 604 Crate Late Model victory and Chris Joyce earned $2,500 in the Mid-East 602 Crate victory.
Winner's sponsors: Strickler's Melanie Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by G-Style Transport, Donaldson Grading, Stock Car Steel & Aluminum, Fox Shocks, DirtWrap.
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Kyle Strickler
Time: 15.205 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Meadows
Heat race winners: Matthew Nance, Anthony Sanders
Editor's note: Corrects car count to 21 sted 18.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Strickler, Meadows
Row 2: Wilson, Winger
Row 3: Mitchell, Franklin
Row 4: Hicks, Yarbrough
Row 5: Nance, Sanders
Row 6: Breuer, Richeson
Row 7: Bare, Tucker
Row 8: Ivey, McBride
Row 9: Hudspeth, Hodges
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information