Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/17/2024 19:38:28

Sponsor 743
December 4
I-75 Raceway,
Sweetwater, TN
Sanction: Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated December 5, 6:46 am)
Hedgecock sneaks by Bailes for I-75 victory
  1. Cory Hedgecock
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Carson Ferguson
  4. Ben Watkins
  5. Eli Beets
  6. Jensen Ford
  7. Sam Seawright
  8. Christian Hanger
  9. Forrest Trent
  10. Dalton Cook
  11. Bobby Giffin
  12. Ethan Wilson
  13. Michael Asberry
  14. Anthony Sanders
  15. Gary Dillon
  16. Cory Lawler
  17. Clay Coghlan
  18. Tim Vance
  19. Jeff Neubert
  20. David Yandle
  21. Jonathan Ingram
  22. Andy Standridge
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Cory Hedgecock climbs atop his car to celebrate his $5,000 victory.
What won the race: Passing race-long leader Ross Bailes as they worked traffic with three laps remaining, Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., led the rest of the way to win Saturday’s 40-lap Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series main event at I-75 Raceway. Hedgecock eased away to win by 0.857 seconds to earn $5,000.
Quotable: “I think (Bailes) was still faster. Just the good clean air (and) I didn’t expect it to go green all the way either,” Hedgecock said. “He was being very kind to those lapped cars and everything. We just used it to our advantage and he kinda got pinched down right there. I knew the middle was kinda there. It still wasn’t as fast as the bottom I felt like. I just needed him to be kinda marred up a little bit in order for it to work.”
Key notes: Bailes, who started third, led laps 1-37 of the caution-free feature before Hedgecock closed in in traffic. With Bailes trying to work the low line around the lapped car of Tim Vance, Hedgecock made the winning pass on the outside. … It was Hedgecock’s second $5,000 victory in as many weeks and his 14th victory of the season. … Ten of the 22 starters completed 40 laps. … Polesitter Ben Watkins ran second for the first eight laps before slipping to fourth. … It was Hedgecock’s first career victory with the Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series, which made its first-ever visit to I-75 Raceway, the seventh different track the series has visited since its inception in 2019. … The series kicked off its third season in November with Bailes of Clover, S.C., winning at Lancaster (S.C.) Speedway and Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., winning at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C.
On the move: Carson Ferguson of Concord, N.C., started ninth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Hedgecock’s Black Diamond Chassis is powered by an Eagle Race Engine with sponsorship from E-Z-GO, Green’s Recycling, Brucebilt Performance Parts, I-75 Raceway, Budget Transmission, Cobb’s Auto Parts, Ohlins and Pro Fabrication.
Points chase: Before I-75: 1. Ross Bailes (123); 2. Carson Ferguson (120); 3. Ben Watkins (120); 4. Michael Brown (110); 5. Brett Hamm (97).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 68°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Jensen Ford
Time: 14.077 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Watkins
Heat race winners: Jensen Ford, Eli Beets, Christian Hanger
Consolation race winners: Dalton Cook
Provisional starters: Tim Vance, Jonathan Ingram
Next series race: January 15, Lake View Motor Speedway (Lake View, SC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Watkins, Hedgecock
Row 2: Bailes, Hanger
Row 3: Ford, Beets
Row 4: Giffin, Seawright
Row 5: Ferguson, Sanders
Row 6: Wilson, Coghlan
Row 7: Asberry, Trent
Row 8: Lawler, Cook
Row 9: Neubert, Dillon
Row 10: Yandle, Standridge
Row 11: Vance, Ingram

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information