Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/05/2020 02:44:14

Sponsor 743
September 19
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: UMP DIRTcar special events (non-touring) - $2,000
Information provided by: Patrick Davis, Jimmy Dearing and track reports (last updated September 20, 9:05 am)
Korte bests Sheppard for $2,000 at Tri-City
  1. Randy Korte
  2. Brandon Sheppard
  3. Bobby Pierce
  4. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  5. Tony Jackson Jr.
  6. Jim Shereck
  7. Ryan Unzicker
  8. Kolby Vandenbergh
  9. Jesse Stovall
  10. Billy Laycock
  11. Jason Perry
  12. Brian Diveley
  13. Gordy Gundaker
  14. Austin Rettig
  15. Rusty Schlenk
  16. Steve Lance Jr.
  17. Jeff Herzog
  18. Matt Bailey
  19. Dillan White
  20. Don Hammer
  21. Mark Burgtorf
  22. Michael Kloos
  23. Justin Reed
  24. Derek Fetter
presented by
Jimmy Dearing/stlracingphotos.com
Randy Korte (00) outran Brandon Sheppard (B5) at Tri-City.
What won the race: Polesitter Randy Korte of Highland, Ill., charged past second-starting Frank Heckenast Jr. of Frankfort Ill., on lap 10, and held off a late-race challenge from fourth-starting Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., to pick up a $2,000 Tri-City victory.
Key notes: The second of three straight $2,000-to-win UMP Late Model non-touring events in conjunction with Tri-City's Summit Modified Nationals. ... The win makes Korte's sixth of the season at Tri-City. His last victory came on Aug. 22. ... Korte plans to retire at the end of the season. ... Michael Kloos slowed for a caution just short of the race's halfway mark. ... Another yellow flew with three laps remaining when Matt Bailey got into the wall. ... Track standout Tim Manville scratched following heat races. ... Runner-up finisher Brandon Sheppard was the winner of Thursday's opener. ... Sheppard and Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., are among drivers pulling double duty in modifieds.
On the move: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., charged from the eighth starting spot to notch a podium finish. Kolby Vanderbergh of Ashland, Ill., rallied from the 18th starting position to finish eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Korte's Rocket Chassis carries a special graphics scheme to raise awareness for the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation.
Points chase: Through Sept. 19, Korte has a 75-point lead in the track standings over Jim Shereck, while Pierce has clinched the UMP DIRTcar Late Model national points title.
Car count: 50
Fast qualifier: Michael Kloos
Time: 14.495 seconds
Polesitter: Randy Korte
Heat race winners: Randy Korte, Frank Heckenast Jr., Jesse Stovall, Brandon Sheppard, Jeff Herzog
Consolation race winners: Justin Reed, Austin Rettig
Next series race: September 20, Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728