Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/05/2020 02:57:46

Sponsor 743
September 20
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (All-Star Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 21, 10:02 pm)
With Davenport win, Kay nears Deery title
All-Star Classic
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Andy Eckrich
  3. Brian Harris
  4. Brunson Behning
  5. Denny Eckrich
  6. Jeff Aikey
  7. Colby Springsteen
  8. Joe Zrostlik
  9. Joel Callahan
  10. Nick Marolf
  11. Ryan Dolan
  12. Tyler Bruening
  13. Jason Rauen
  14. Scott Fitzpatrick
  15. Todd Cooney
  16. Travis Denning
  17. Jon Poll
  18. Jonathan Brauns
  19. Ray Guss Jr.
  20. Todd Malmstrom
  21. Mike Murphy Jr.
  22. Jay Johnson
  23. Darrel DeFrance
  24. Spencer Diercks
presented by
Mike Ruefer
Justin Kay in victory lane at Davenport Speedway.
What won the race: After working his way up from 10th starting in the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature, Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, pressured Andy Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, for the lead but couldn't surge ahead until after a caution flag with nine laps remaining. Eckrich switched to the lower line, allowing Kay to go to the outside, get a good run in the second set of turns and move in front for good on lap 28.
Key notes: Kay's $3,000 triumph was his sixth of 2014 on the Deery Summer Series. ... Eckrich settled for second place after leading 27 of the race's 35 laps off the pole position. ... Brunson Behning of Davenport, Iowa, placed fourth, giving him the best outing of his brief Deery Series career. ... Davenport's 2014 season came to an end with the All-Star Classic, which highlights the track's schedule for the fourth consecutive year. ... The event was contested on Davenport's outer half-mile oval.
On the move: Defending series champion Brian Harris of Davenport, Iowa, charged forward from the 19th starting spot to finish 19th.
Winner's sponsors: Kay drives a Barry Wright Race Car with sponsorship from Heinee Jo's, Jr's Place, Kay Farms & Elevator, Kay & Sons Trucking, Petersen Insurance and Wheatland Ag Center.
Points chase: With a second straight IMCA national title already secured and a 30-point advantage over Eckrich in the Deery Brothers Summer Series points after Saturday night's action, Kay can clinch his career first tour crown by starting his heat race when the IMCA Late Model tour concludes in a two-day event Oct. 3 and 4 at West Liberty (Iowa) Raceway.
Car count: 37
Polesitter: Andy Eckrich
Heat race winners: Justin Kay, Jason Rauen, Andy Eckrich, Jonathan Brauns
Consolation race winners: Jeff Aikey, Travis Denning
Next series race: October 3, West Liberty Raceway (West Liberty, IA) $0
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728