Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/25/2020 10:57:51

Sponsor 743
September 13
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series (Buddy Rogers Memorial) - $4,400
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated September 14, 5:09 pm)
McCarter survives R.J.'s charge at Tazewell
Buddy Rogers Memorial
  1. Mack McCarter
  2. Ronnie Johnson
  3. Brandon Williams
  4. Jacob Grizzle
  5. Jake Knowles
  6. Josh Henry
  7. Ryan King
  8. Tyler Crowder
  9. Brent Barrett
  10. David Brannon
  11. Lavon Sparks
  12. Brian Shockley
  13. Mark Dowdy
  14. Jadon Frame
  15. Matthew Turner
  16. Brad Hall
presented by
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Mack McCarter of Gatlinburg, Tenn., survived a last-lap onslaught from polesitter Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., for a 44-lap victory in the sixth annual Buddy Rogers Memorial. McCarter led comfortably late, but Johnson made a last-ditch run, then a slower car spun in front of the leaders on the last lap. Everyone made it through and McCarter held on, though he crossed the finish line sideways.
Quotable: "Ronnie Johnson is the best Dirt Late Model driver in the country and I’ve been trying to beat him for win all season long over in the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series,” McCarter said. "He beat us in qualifying, but I beat him for the lead at the start of the race and track position means everything here. All race long I kept asking myself, 'Where’s Johnson and where’s the checkered flag?'"
Key notes: The race was the first on the series in three months. ... Third-generation driver Brandon Williams of Crossville, Tenn., was impressive in his first-ever start with the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series. After missing hot laps to replace a power steering pump, he qualified fourth-fastest and finished third in the feature despite losing all his helmet tear-offs early in the race. ... Caution flags flew for Jadon Frame (lap three), Tyler Crowder (flat tire on lap six), Matthew Turner (smoking car on lap 22), Lavon Sparks (lap 26) and Brian Shockley (lap 36). ... The series made its second appearance at Tazewell this year.
On the move: Josh Henry of Newport, Tenn., started ninth and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: McCarter's CVR Race Car is sponsored by McCarter Lumber and McCarter Farms.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson leads Tyler Crowder of Lamont, Fla., in the tour's standings.
Car count: 16
Fast qualifier: Ronnie Johnson
Time: 11.916 seconds
Next series race: September 20, 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728