Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/23/2020 08:33:02

Sponsor 743
September 13
Friendship Motor Speedway,
Elkin, NC
Sanction: Fast Unified Engine Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 16, 8:47 am)
Atkins captures FUEL finale at Friendship
  1. Ryan Atkins
  2. Brett Hamm
  3. Ricky Weeks
  4. Donald Bradsher
  5. Ross Bailes
  6. Matt Long
  7. Kenny Van Derveer
  8. Pat Lindsay
  9. Derek Brown
  10. Casey Traxler
  11. Mitchell Coble
  12. Billy Hicks
  13. Bill Tesh
presented by
Gene Lefler
Ryan Atkins heads to a $3,000 victory at Friendship.
What won the race: Ryan Atkins of Mount Airy, N.C., led all 40 laps of the FUEL season finale for a $3,000 payday while Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., wrapped up the title on the first-year tour for CT 525 engine Late Models. The 27-year-old Atkins took the checkers ahead of Brett Hamm and Ricky Weeks while Billy Hicks, who ran second the first 16 laps, retired on lap 24. Bailes finished fifth.
Key notes: Atkins took the checkers .409 seconds in front of Brett Hamm. ... Eight drivers completed 40 laps. ... Mitchell Coble drew a lap-25 yellow. ... Bill Tesh drew a lap-16 yellow. ... Bailes was just three-thousandths of a second quicker than Hicks in qualifying. ... Friday's FUEL stop at Beckley (W.Va.) Motor Speedway was cancelled. ... Chris Cheek currently tops the Crate Late Model points standings at Friendship Motor Speedway.
On the move: Bailes started seventh and finished fifth; Matt Long started ninth and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Atkins's No. 9 is sponsored by Polar Pop, Rid-A-Bug, Southland Transportation and TastyKake.
Points chase: Bailes entered the series finale with 972 points to lead Hamm (942) and Donald Bradsher (912).
Car count: 13
Fast qualifier: Ross Bailes
Time: 16.424 seconds
Polesitter: Ryan Atkins
Heat race winners: Ryan Atkins, Ricky Weeks
Editor's note: Corrects Atkins age to 27 instead of 37.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728