Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/28/2023 03:15:42

Sponsor 743
April 11
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Spring Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and team reports (last updated April 12, 11:49 am)
Stovall bests Phillips for Wheatland MLRA victory
Spring Nationals
  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Jimmy Mars
  4. Travis Dickes
  5. Will Vaught
  6. Chris Brown
  7. Jeremy Payne
  8. Tony Jackson Jr.
  9. Brad Looney
  10. Chad Simpson
  11. John Anderson
  12. A.J. Diemel
  13. Tommy Weder Jr.
  14. Jason Bodenhamer
  15. Scott Lewis
  16. Bill Leighton Jr.
  17. Mike Collins
  18. Dave Eckrich
  19. Jason O'Brien
  20. Brandon McCormick
  21. Corey Zeitner
  22. J.C. Wyman
  23. Jacob Magee
  24. Bill Koons
  25. Lane Ehlert
presented by
Chris Bork/cbracephotos.com
Jesse Stovall's celebrates his Lucas Oil Speedway victory.
What won the race: Second-starting Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., held off a hard-charging Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., for his fifth career MLRA victory. He led all 30 laps for his first Late Model victory at Wheatland.
Quotable: "This race car is awesome," Stovall said. "Scott Bailey took it home this week and worked his butt of on it and changed some things around we had talked about. It was as good at the end of the race as it was at the start of the race."
Key notes: Stovall notched his first special event victory of 2014. ... Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., started on the pole but faded to finish ninth; he triumphed in his Capital Race Cars debut during the tour's previous stop at Wheatland on Aug. 31, 2013. ... Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., won the USRA Modified feature; Payne pulled double duty, steering the GRT house car to a seventh-place Late Model finish. ... Defending MLRA champion Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., was eighth. ... Friday's $2,000-to-win event kicked off a weekend doubleheader for MLRA competitors at the Wheatland, Mo., oval.
On the move: Phillips climbed from the eighth starting spot to finish second; surprise entrant Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., advanced from ninth to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Stovall pilots a Victory Circle Chassis with sponsorship from JSR Suspension, Midwest Sheet Metal, RCR Designs and Supermoon Graphics.
Points chase: Phillips extended his early points lead with the runner-up finish; he entered the weekend with an eight-point edge over Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa.
Car count: 37
Polesitter: Brad Looney
Heat race winners: Brad Looney, Jesse Stovall, Chris Brown, Will Vaught
Consolation race winners: Chad Simpson, Jacob Magee
Provisional starters: Jason O'Brien, J.C. Wyman, Brad Jarrell
Next series race: April 12, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $3,000
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information