Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 01:01:56

Sponsor 743
July 3
34 Raceway,
West Burlington, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 5, 1:52 am)
Alberson gets first MLRA victory at 34 Raceway
  1. Garrett Alberson
  2. Jeremiah Hurst
  3. Billy Moyer Jr.
  4. Tad Pospisil
  5. Tony Jackson Jr.
  6. Justin Duty
  7. Chad Simpson
  8. Mason Oberkramer
  9. Chris Simpson
  10. Tony Toste
  11. Jason Papich
  12. Jeff Herzog
  13. Daniel Hilsabeck
  14. Blair Nothdurft
  15. Reid Millard
  16. Brandon Queen
  17. Tim Simpson
  18. Brennon Willard
  19. Terry Phillips
  20. Dylan Hoover
  21. Skip Frey
  22. Justin Reed
  23. Brandon Rothzen
  24. Rickey Frankel
presented by
Brendon Bauman/brendonbauman.com
Garrett Alberson celebrates his first career MLRA victory.
What won the race: Turning back challenges from his Roberts Racing teammate Jeremiah Hurst, third-starting Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., soared to his first career Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory in Saturday night's 40-lap feature at 34 Raceway. He pocketed $5,000 after beating Hurst to the finish line by 0.615 of a second.
Quotable: “I was having such a hard time getting around the 76 there and I needed to make speed because my car was getting kind of flat feeling,” Alberson said of the race’s late stages. “I saw him (Hurst) down there and I told myself, ‘These have got to be the best five laps of your life right here.’ What an awesome run. We have been working for this for a long time and been getting really close. It just feels awesome.”
Key notes: Alberson overtook Tony Jackson Jr. for the lead on lap six and held a comfortable edge during the race’s middle stages, but Hurst caught his teammate and snuck by to assume command on lap 36. Alberson regained the top spot on the 38th circuit, however, and held on. … Hurst, the defending MLRA champion, registered his second runner-up finish of 2021 on the tour and joked about being outdueled for the win by his teammate. “I think I’m the one that got Garrett on board here, so I’m kinda kicking myself in the ass right now for it,” he said with a smile, before adding: I’m happy where we’re at and I’m happy for Garrett and all our people.” … Billy Moyer Jr., coming off a MLRA win the previous night at Davenport (Iowa) Speedway, led laps 1-2 and finished third. … Jackson finished fifth after leading laps 3-5. … The feature’s only caution flag flew on lap 11 when Tim Simpson spun exiting turn four and nearly collected Jackson.
On the move: Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb., started 11th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Alberson’s Roberts Motorsports Black Diamond Race Car carries a Clements engine and sponsorship from Roemer Machine, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Mesilla Valley Transportation, DoneRight.TV, Capri College, Preston Telephone Company and Lucas Oil Products.
Points chase: After 34 Raceway: 1. Tony Jackson Jr. (2,685): 2. Garrett Alberson (2,480); 3. Jason Papich (2,275): 4. Mason Oberkramer (2,005); 5. Justin Duty (1,935).
Current weather: Clear, 77°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Billy Moyer Jr.
Time: 15.075 seconds
Polesitter: Billy Moyer Jr.
Heat race winners: Billy Moyer Jr., Tony Jackson Jr., Garrett Alberson
Next series race: July 17, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $15,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moyer Jr., Jackson Jr.
Row 2: Alberson, Herzog
Row 3: Hurst, Hilsabeck
Row 4: Cha. Simpson, Nothdurft
Row 5: Duty, Oberkramer
Row 6: Pospisil, Papich
Row 7: Phillips, Reed
Row 8: Chr. Simpson, Toste
Row 9: Hoover, Queen
Row 10: Millard, Willard
Row 11: Frankel, Frey
Row 12: Rothzen, T. Simpson
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information