Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2021 17:16:57

Sponsor 743
June 19
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Iron-Man Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 20, 8:20 am)
O'Neal wins Iron-Man stop at Smoky Mountain
Iron-Man Classic
  1. Hudson O'Neal
  2. Spencer Hughes
  3. Dakotah Knuckles
  4. Zack Mitchell
  5. Cory Hedgecock
  6. Tommy Kerr
  7. Jensen Ford
  8. Skip Arp
  9. Robby Moses
  10. Matthew Nance
  11. Mike Marlar
  12. Michael Chilton
  13. Dusty Carver
  14. Randy Weaver
  15. David Payne
  16. Vic Hill
  17. Brett Wyatt
  18. Ross Bailes
  19. Donald McIntosh
  20. Ray Cook
  21. David Crabtree
  22. Joey Coulter
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
The Double Down Motorsports team in victory lane.
What won the race: Third-starting Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., overtook Spencer Hughes on a lap-13 restart and paced the final 28 circuits at Smoky Mountain Speedway on Saturday, earning his second career Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series feature victory and collecting $5,000.
Quotable: “I was just able to (cruise) around under that caution and think about what I needed to do and where I needed to be on the racetrack,” O’Neal said. “I just took advantage of Spencer not exactly knowing (where to be). He was just sitting duck on the racetrack … it’s hard to lead these races. It’s way easier (to get a perspective while running) second."
Key notes: O'Neal earned the victory at his car owner Roger Seller's racetrack after the Lucas Oil stop at Magnolia Motor Speedway was rained out. ... Spencer Hughes of Meridian, Miss., led the first 12 laps, but settled for the runner-up position and crossed the finish line 1.925 seconds behind O'Neal. ... Polesitter Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., was only able to complete seven laps and finished 18th. ... The 17th annual Iron Man Classic, the only scheduled stop at Smoky Mountain for the Iron-Man Southern Series, was slowed by six separate incidents and lasted 27 minutes, with seven competitors completing all 40 laps.
On the move: Jensen Ford of Johnson City, Tenn., started 21st and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: O’Neal’s Double Down Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Lazydays RV, O’Neal’s Salvage and Recycling, WR1 Sim Chassis and Lucas Oil.
Points chase: Before Smoky Mountain: 1. Jensen Ford (299); 2. Cory Hedgecock (168) 3. Steve Smith (151); 4. Donald McIntosh (150); 5. Jimmy Owens (135).
Current weather: Overcast, 77°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Ross Bailes
Time: 15.560 seconds
Polesitter: Ross Bailes
Consolation race winners: Matthew Nance
Provisional starters: Jensen Ford, Donald McIntosh
Next series race: July 2, Boyd's Speedway (Ringgold, GA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Bailes, Hughes
Row 2: O'Neal, Marlar
Row 3: Mitchell, Knuckles
Row 4: Chilton, Weaver
Row 5: Crabtree, Hedgecock
Row 6: Arp, Payne
Row 7: Carver, Kerr
Row 8: Hill, Moses
Row 9: Nance, Cook
Row 10: Coulter, Wyatt
Row 11: Ford, McIntosh

Sponsor 1070
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728