Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1214
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2021 16:17:10

Sponsor 743
June 19
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Freedom Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 20, 8:13 am)
Stovall wires $5,000 Freedom Classic at Salina
Freedom Classic
  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Tony Jackson Jr.
  3. Tony Toste
  4. Kylan Garner
  5. Chris Kratzer
  6. Steve Stultz
  7. Brennon Willard
  8. Reid Millard
  9. Mark Daye
  10. Dustin Bolster
  11. Jason Redman
  12. Jason Papich
  13. Justin Duty
  14. Joey Smith
  15. Garrett Alberson
  16. Cory Green
  17. Dalton Cloyd
  18. Danny Miller
  19. Jeremiah Hurst
  20. Daniel Hilsabeck
  21. Mason Oberkramer
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Jesse Stovall streaks toward a $5,000 victory in Salina, Okla.
What won the race: Second-starting Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., led all 40 laps Saturday at Salina Highbanks Speedway. earning the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association's eighth annual Freedom Classic feature victory and collecting $5,000. He beat Tony Jackson Jr. to the finish line by 1.043 seconds to secure his fifth career eagle trophy at the Oklahoma track.
Quotable: "With about three to go there I lost my right-rear and I seen Tommy Boy (crew chief Tommy Rogers) giving me the (signal) sticks that Tony (Jackson) come to me pretty quick there," said Stovall. "I don’t know what happened there, why I lost grip but I just lost grip. I thought I threw the tread off my tire, but the tread is still pretty decent so I don’t know. We’ll take ‘em as you get ‘em ... they are pretty hard to get as everyone here knows."
Key notes: Stovall earned his second MLRA triumph of 2021 and the 28th of his career, giving him sole possession of sixth on the tour's all-time win list and his fifth career series victory at Salina Highbanks. ... Stovall, whose crew stayed up until 3 a.m. after Friday's Salina opener to change engines, noted that he's still getting accustomed to his new-to-him Capital Race Car but praised the chassis brand's owner, Marshall Green, for the help he's offered him. ... Jackson's runner-up outing was his seventh MLRA podium finish of the season and extended his points lead. ... Third-place Tony Toste recorded his second MLRA podium of '21 while fourth-place Kylan Garner and fifth-place Chris Kratzer tallied career-best MLRA finishes. ... The A-main was slowed by six separate incidents and lasted 33 minutes; five competitors completed all 40 laps. ... Among the contenders experiencing trouble were polesitter Jason Papich (flat tire on lap 32) and Garrett Alberson (mechanical woes on lap 13).
On the move: Kylan Garner of Sarcoxie, Mo., started 12th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Stovall’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by Dirt Track Bank, Swafford’s Service, Metal Magic Auto Hail Repair, Lucas Oil, Midwest Sheet Metal and J.J. Propane.
Points chase: Jackson ended the weekend leading the standings by 270 points.
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Jason Papich
Time: 15.209 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Papich
Heat race winners: Jason Papich, Jesse Stovall, Garrett Alberson
Next series race: June 25, Deer Creek Speedway (Spring Valley, MN) $12,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Papich, Stovall
Row 2: Alberson, Jackson Jr.
Row 3: Toste, Kratzer
Row 4: Stultz, Hurst
Row 5: Duty, Willard
Row 6: Hilsabeck, Garner
Row 7: Smith, Cloyd
Row 8: Millard, Daye
Row 9: Bolster, Green
Row 10: Redman, Miller
Row 11: Oberkramer

Sponsor 1195
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728