Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2021 16:58:53

Sponsor 743
June 18
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Freedom Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 21, 12:45 pm)
Jackson tops MLRA foes at Salina Highbanks
Freedom Classic
  1. Tony Jackson Jr.
  2. Garrett Alberson
  3. Jeremiah Hurst
  4. Daniel Hilsabeck
  5. Justin Duty
  6. Tony Toste
  7. Chris Kratzer
  8. Brennon Willard
  9. Jason Papich
  10. Steve Stultz
  11. Jason Redman
  12. Kenny Shelton
  13. Jesse Stovall
  14. Mason Oberkramer
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Tony Jackson Jr. in victory lane at the Salina Highbanks.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., raced to his 11th career Lucas Oil Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory in Friday night’s Freedom Classic opener at Salina Highbanks Speedway. MLRA's tour points leader earned $3,000.
Quotable: “We had to work on it a little bit tonight, but it was good," Jackson said. “When you get good race cars up there it’s hard to get by them, so you know the first few laps are pretty crucial. We were able to get a pretty good start and hold them off.”
Key notes: Jackson Jr. finished ahead of Roberts Racing teammates Garrett Alberson and Jeremiah Hurst to claim his fourth series triumph of the season. … Third-starting Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., pulled off on lap 16. … Mason Oberkramer was a scratch from the 30-lapper. … The Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association headed to Salina Highbanks Speedway for two events during the eighth annual Freedom Classic weekend.
On the move: Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., started seventh and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Jackson's Cornett-powered Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Willard Quarries, Lebanon Ready Mix, Merrill Bonding Company, Midwest Sheet Metal, Allstar Performance, Hooker Harness, Swift Springs, Modern Image, Hoosier Tire Midwest, Winning Edge Carburetion, Performance Bodies, StopTech, Penske Shocks, SRI Performance, Randy Keene, Simpson Race Products, Club 29, Gorsuch Performance Solutions, GoSunoco and Champion Lubricants Oils.
Points chase: After Salina Friday: 1. Tony Jackson Jr. (2,125): 2. Garrett Alberson (1,930); 3. Jason Papich (1,820): 4. Mason Oberkramer (1,555); 5. Justin Duty (1,515).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Jesse Stovall
Time: 14.700 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Papich
Heat race winners: Jason Papich, Tony Jackson Jr.
Next series race: June 25, Deer Creek Speedway (Spring Valley, MN) $12,000
Editor's note: Updates winner’s sponsor list.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Papich, Jackson Jr.
Row 2: Stovall, Hurst
Row 3: Toste, Duty
Row 4: Alberson, Hilsabeck
Row 5: Kratzer, Willard
Row 6: Stultz, Shelton
Row 7: Oberkramer, Redman
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728