Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1135
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/24/2020 15:23:24

Sponsor 743
September 6
Brighton Speedway,
Brighton, ON
Sanction: Go Nuclear Late Model Challenge Series (Great Crate Race) - $6,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 11, 12:20 am)
Caswell tops Belyea for $6,000 in Great Crate Race
Great Crate Race
  1. Dale Caswell
  2. Greg Belyea
  3. Charlie Sandercock
  4. Phil Potts
  5. Corey Earl
  6. Rick Miller
  7. Steve Baldwin
  8. John Waters
  9. Mat Vanderlinden
  10. Harry Halliday
  11. Sean Beardsley
  12. Bret Belden
  13. Adam Turner
  14. Terry Hunt
  15. Lee Gill
  16. Caley Weese
  17. Mark Rayner
  18. A.J. Kingsley
  19. Jorden Peters
  20. David McDonald
  21. Elmer Stevenson
  22. Shayne Tenace
  23. Tim Sears Jr.
  24. Jason Knowles
  25. Brandon Mowat
  26. Norm Mayhew
presented by
Dale Caswell (R88) works under Greg Belyea (25) late in the race.
What won the race: Dale Caswell of Central Square, N.Y., won a late-race battle with seventh-starting Greg Belyea of Frankford, Ontario, to collect $6,000 for his second straight victory in Brighton's Great Crate Race. Belyea took the lead from Caswell on the 57th of 65 laps using a charge on the cushion, but Caswell was able to power back into command on the bottom.
Quotable: “We are excited to be part of the Great Crate Race IV”, said Go Nuclear Late Model Series organizer Shayne Tenace. “This is one of the biggest Crate Late Model events in North America, and we are looking forward to a great show on Saturday night at Brighton.”
Key notes: Charlie Sandercock led during the early stages before being overtaken by Caswell. ... Polesitter Brandon Mowat was the race's second retiree. ... The 65-lap feature was slowed by three cautions. ... McDougall's Insurance & Financial was the race's title sponsor. ... The 4-year-old race boasted a total purse in excess of $20,000. ... Go Nuclear competitors returned to action for the first time since July 18.
On the move: Caswell came forward from 12th to record the victory.
Points chase: Sandercock entered the event with 286 points to lead Dale Caswell (257 points), Dustin Waters (247) and Phil Potts (245).
Car count: 33
Polesitter: Brandon Mowat
Heat race winners: A.J. Kingsley, Tim Sears Jr., Dale Caswell, Shayne Tenace
Provisional starters: Caley Weese, Brian Knowles
Next series race: September 12, Mohawk International Raceway (Hogansburg, NY) $1,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728