Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2021 15:19:08

Sponsor 743
June 3
Maquoketa Speedway,
Maquoketa, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 4, 6:08 pm)
Jackson grabs $3,000 victory at Maquoketa
  1. Tony Jackson Jr.
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Jeremiah Hurst
  4. Garrett Alberson
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. Mitch McGrath
  7. Earl Pearson Jr.
  8. Jake Timm
  9. Jason Papich
  10. Joel Callahan
  11. Jeremy Conaway
  12. Matt Furman
  13. Mason Oberkramer
  14. Tim Simpson
  15. Brennon Willard
  16. Tegan Evans
  17. Justin Duty
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Tony Jackson Jr. waves in victory lane at Maquoketa Speedway.
What won the race: Regaining the lead from fellow front-row starter Jeremiah Hurst on the 19th lap, polesitter Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., raced to a $3,000 Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory Thursday at Maquoketa Speedway. Hurst, who led laps 2-18, ended up third behind Chris Simpson.
Quotable: “I told (the crew) before I got in that I hate starting from the pole because you’re a sitting duck," Jackson said. "It was probably a blessing that (Hurst) got out in front of me because it just kind of showed me the pace he was going to set and it gave me something to go off of.”
Key notes: Jackson Jr.'s victory is the ninth of his career with the MLRA touring series and his second of the year, making him the tour's first repeat winner of 2021. ... Last year's event winner Chris Simpson claimed the runner-up spot, 3.196 seconds behind Jackson while Jeremiah Hurst ended up third after leading 17 laps in looking for his first MLRA victory. ... Part of Simpson's team was in Wisconsin putting together a new MB Customs car he plans to take to Eldora Speedway's Double Dreams next week. ... Thursday's feature went green the entire way and lasted eight minutes with 13 competitors completing 30 laps. … MLRA on Friday makes its first-ever visit to Mississippi Thunder Speedway for a $10,000-to-win feature, before wrapping-up the weekend with a stop at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn.
On the move: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, started sixth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Jackson's Cornett-powered Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Willard Quarries, Lebanon Ready Mix, Merrill Bonding Company, Midwest Sheet Metal, Allstar Performance, Hooker Harness, Swift Springs, Modern Image, Hoosier Tire Midwest, Winning Edge Carburetion, Performance Bodies, StopTech, Bilstein, SRI Performance, Randy Keenem, Club 29, Gorsuch Performance Solutions, GoSunoco and Champion Lubricants Oils.
Points chase: After Maquoketa: (1) Tony Jackson Jr. (1,520); 2. Garrett Alberson (1,395); 3. Jason Papich (1,350); 4. Chad Simpson (1,120); 5. Mason Oberkramer (1,110).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 81°F
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Jake Timm
Time: 13.851 seconds
Polesitter: Tony Jackson Jr.
Heat race winners: Tony Jackson Jr., Jeremiah Hurst
Next series race: June 4, Mississippi Thunder Speedway (Fountain City, WI) $10,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner’s chassis.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Jackson, Hurst
Row 2: Pearson, McGrath
Row 3: Cha. Simpson, Chr. Simpson
Row 4: Timm, Callahan
Row 5: Papich, Furman
Row 6: Oberkramer, Alberson
Row 7: Willard, Duty
Row 8: Evans, T. Simpson
Row 9: Conaway
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728